#GUTGAA Meet and Greet

It’s here!! Today is the first day of the Gearing Up To Get An Agent (#GUTGAA) Blogfest/Pitch Contest! Today is simple. Deana Barnhart posted a few questions on her blog on Friday and asked that we answer them on our blogs today… Of course, there’s also the option of doing your own questions=) I hope you’ve joined, because this month is going to be awesome!

The questions:

-Where do you write? I write at a desk in the living room.

There is order to the chaos… I think.

-Quick. Go to your writing space, sit down and look to your left. What is the first thing you see? My printed WIP (The Changeling) with an XBOX controller on top.

Yes, there is a controller sitting on top of it. Yes, it is there for a reason. No, the reason has nothing to do with writing.

-Favorite time to write? After my kids go to bed. That way I get to put my earphones in and listen to music while I do what’s gotta be done=)

from gifbin.com

-Drink of choice while writing? Mountain Dew. I’m addicted. I mainline the stuff.

I said Mountain Dew not mountain view… It’s pretty though.
image from PublicDomainPictures.net

-When writing , do you listen to music or do you need complete silence? Sort of answered in question 2, but I’ll elaborate. When I’m drafting or editing/revising, I need background noise that is familiar and can tune out, but I write better when it’s there.

This is soooo me.
by @caseyohara on AwesomeGifs.com

-What was your inspiration for your latest manuscript and where did you find it? I had a dream one night about two girls standing outside an apartment complex. I could only see the feet of one of the girls. She was wearing socks with the lace on the ends and white dress shoes as she lay on the ground, the rest of her hidden by a corner of the building. That little girl was dead. And a creature had killed her. That’s where The Changeling came from.

Yes, Kitty. You are a ferocious monster.
by Elizabeth Cooper

The Gifted is a little different. I was in the middle of reading the Wheel of Time series (a great series I highly recommend). I was driving… somewhere, I don’t remember where, and thinking about what I’d just read and what it could mean for the rest of the series (you know it’s a good book when this happens). And then my mind started wandering to a girl from our world somehow getting trapped in a world like that.

How would you react to a world filled with real magic?
by Xtream_i

-What’s your most valuable writing tip? Keep going. Even if every word you put down is an exercise in agony, keep going. You don’t have to write every day unless you want to, but when you do sit down to write, and you’re staring at your screen unsure of what to put next, just push through. The first one hundred words will be difficult, but once you get the rhythm, the agony will be over and the words will be like a warm knife in liquid butter.

However you write, just write.
by Kristin Nador

Deana also asks that we put a little bio about ourselves up too, but you can easily go to Who the What? to find out more. Also, there’s a short bio at the bottom of every blog that says a little something about me=)

Anyway, I’ll be hopping through the list getting to know you too, so I’ll see you around=)

About Katie Doyle

Katie lives in the wilds of Southern Indiana, surrounded by neighbors and other such dangerous creatures. When she’s not building blanket forts, she’s telling her kids to do their homework and attempting to keep the peace between the two. She’s good at wrangling the dog who loves the cat but terrible at wrangling the cat who hates the dog. In her spare time, she and her husband binge watch shows on Netflix or she’s writing things that don’t make sense until they do.
This entry was posted in #GUTGAA and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

58 Responses to #GUTGAA Meet and Greet

  1. Enjoy GUTGAA! Loved the visuals to accompany the answers. Mountain Dew makes me think you’re Southern?

  2. Hi, Kathleen! I love your writing tip. It’s so true. Looking forward to getting to know you over GUTGAA!

  3. Good to know you better, ’cause I’m thinking I already know you. ^_^

  4. PK Hrezo says:

    lol… mountain view. Cute.

    Great to meet you! 😀

  5. EM Castellan says:

    Hi, Kathleen! It’s great to see familiar faces joining for GUTGAA 🙂 I love your writing desk, it looks professional and organized. I also agree with your writing tip. Best of luck with the blogfest!

  6. Kitty!

    So, do you have the controller there because you’re a gamer? A *secret* gamer? I love playing video games (Skyrim at the moment) but it’s a real time suckage especially if I’m writing. It’s all about balance.

    Great point about keeping going. I have those down days too where it feels hopeless and like everything I write is terrible. The blogging community has helped because other writers admit to feeling the same, none of us are alone in our inner torment!

    Here’s my GUTGAA Meet & Greet: A Girl and Her Diary

    • I am a gamer, though not as much as I used to. Skyrim is my next MUST HAVE NOW, though the now is taking longer than I’d like! The controller is there so that my kids don’t steal it and turn the games on themselves, lol. They’re gamers too, and would play all day if I let them=)

  7. Dear Kathleen,

    I know I’ve followed you on twitter for awhile, but it’s nice to “meet” you via the GUTGAA blog hop. I enjoyed your answers and honesty, and can tell you’ve got a definitive voice that happily crept into this post. Happy writing!

    Warm regards,

    Don #138

  8. Kelley Lynn says:

    Not a fan of The Dew, but I’ve always got my Cherry Coke Zero IV 🙂

    • I used to hate Mountain Dew… And then there was a pop machine loading accident in which one was put in the Pepsi slot and I happen to get it. Instead of complaining and getting my money back I drank it… And then I got another one. And another. And another…
      I will on occasion switch it up with a cherry coke though=)

  9. love the Wheel of Time series! One of my favorites. I’m dropping in from GUTGAA, it’s nice to meet you!

    • I know, right! The Wheel of Time series ate up so much of my reading time (and any other time) because I devoured it! Can’t wait until January for the last one!!
      By the by, I LOVE your name!

  10. What a great idea to use pictures in your post! I would take pictures of mine bur right now it’s just a desk. 😛

  11. Carla Rehse says:

    I love your pictures. Nicely done. And yes, the kitty does look like a ferocious monster. I know mine is!

  12. A.J. Locke says:

    Nice to meet you! I loved the visuals with your answers lol

  13. So nice to meet you! My living room is my writing home and I love the kitten with earphones graphic! (It is called a graphic, isn’t it?) 😛

  14. Stacy says:

    Great to meet you Kathleen! I love all the pics. I also got my story from a dream – funny how a few quick snapshots can create a whole book! Look forward to seeing you around GUTGAA

  15. folioroad says:

    Nice to meet you! Your first story inspiration sounds like a pretty terrifying nightmare. Funny how our subconscious can be so morbid. Have fun GUTGAA’ing!

    • The crazy thing is, it wasn’t a nightmare! I have super weird dreams all the time, but they’re usually not scary. I’ll have to tell you about the demon dream sometime. THAT was scary!

  16. It is nice to meet you. I am making my meet and greet rounds. I loved reading your answers and your bio. The inspiration for your first story is frightening, but the best ideas start out that way. I have not had a Mountain Dew in forever. I think I will drink one tomorrow. I remember reading somewhere that they have like twice the amount of caffeine as other soft drinks. I am growing tired of diet coke and am ready for a taste change. Thanks for the thought. Good luck with GUTGAA.

  17. Jessica says:

    Oh your books sound awesome! The one with the little girl sounds very scary (but a good kind of scary). It is nice to meet you.

  18. Ellie Heller says:

    Nice to meet you! The gif of the kitten is beyond cute, but the one after your music post isn’t working. 😦

  19. mblesy says:

    Love your pics! Isn’t it nice when ideas “come” in dreams? I wish I could write as well as the detail I have in some of my dreams. Best wishes.

  20. Mere Joyce says:

    Making sure you write, even if it is difficult, is so important! Nice to meet you, =)

  21. Gail Nall says:

    I saw on one of the comments above that you’re from Southern IN. I’m from Louisville. We’re neighbors! 🙂

  22. Hi from another GUTGAA participant.

    Love that music-loving kitten!

  23. ddfalvo says:

    I loved how you added pictures for each question, it made your blog so fun to read. Enjoyed your story premises, too. Best of luck. 😀

  24. Stacey Nash says:

    Loved the photos to accompany your answers, it was a pleasant change.

  25. I’m a sucker for kitten pictures. 🙂 I also like the familiar background noise. It makes writing feel like a less solitary pursuit. Good luck with GUTGAA.

  26. Kathleen, the pictures were totally entertaining! I loved the Wheel of Time Series…though I never got to read them all:(

  27. Jessica says:

    Hey 🙂 just popping in for the meet and greet. I love all the pictures you posted with your answers, especially the cute little kitties!! thanks for the smiles 🙂

  28. Misha says:

    Great tips! I also tend to put on earphones to cut out distractions. 😀

  29. LOL Love the comment about the reason why the controller is there. 🙂

Comments are closed.