It’s Time For IWSG

Today is all about the Insecure Writer’s Support Group (IWSG) created by Alex J. Cavanaugh. Genius, I tell you, because every writer out there has some insecurities they are struggling with at any given moment. The IWSG is where writers go to help support and inspire others or look for support and inspiration.
As you know, I’ve recently finished the first draft of my second book, The Gifted (the celebration is still going on and you still have time to enter the giveaway). It’s one hell of a feeling, finishing two first drafts in just over a year. And as it was my first year writing, I feel like I accomplished an almost impossible task.
But, my books aren’t finished yet. I still have first round of revisions on The Gifted and second round revisions on The Changeling. And I have to find some new critique partners because my crit group is being dispersed. BOOOO! The site where we met is being revamped and a lot of groups, not just ours, are being nixed. I was in another group a while back that just kind of fizzled out, so the removal of this group is disheartening. I did get the first three chapters of The Changeling critiqued and I believe I can use a lot of what was in those to go through the rest, so it isn’t a complete loss.
My goals are to have all revisions of both books completed by the end of September/early October so that I can begin queries. (EEP!!) I’m probably going to have to rewrite the entire beginning of The Gifted. The inciting incident needs a bit of a tweak and the first page needs a better hook. I’ll be starting with the revisions either this weekend or next week.
I’ve entered a couple of writing contests. One, was a flash fiction contest. I won’t know about the results of that one for a while. The other is a first 250 words with a chance to win a 20K word critique. I will find out about that by the end of next week. I’m hopeful for a win (on either one) but I’m not holding my breath. The First 250 contest has a lot of entries, most of them worthy of winning, and I’m not exactly a great judge of my own writing. I figure the experience will be just as good as winning=)
On a more personal note, my daughter will be going back to school soon. To say I’m not looking forward to it would be a lie. I’ll miss her during the day, but, with her at school, I’ll be able to get a lot more writing (or revising) done while she’s there. I will still have Little Man at home, but he’s easier going than Precious. It was late last school year she was diagnosed with ADHD, and the summer was a stressful time for me in that regard. We opted out of medicines for her over the summer, but have to put her on some during the school year. I’m not thrilled with the idea of having her on medicine, but her ADHD is bad enough that if she went without it, she wouldn’t be able to pass the first grade. She’s a smart girl, she just can’t pay attention or sit still long enough to do her work.
Anyway, while there’s some insecurity where my revisions and the contests are concerned, I’m actually pretty optimistic at this point. Ask me again tomorrow, and that may change though=)
How are your revisions/WIPS going? Are you excited or saddened by the upcoming school year? Have you ever entered a contest? How did it go?

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in daughter, first draft, IWSG, Precious, revision, The Gifted. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to It’s Time For IWSG

  1. Wow, congratulations on finishing your second first draft! That's great!I'm torn about school starting. My second is starting kindergarten, so I'll be down to just two at home. Good for writing, but it will be odd!

  2. Oh yeah, and good luck with the contests! Can't wait to hear!

  3. Lauren says:

    Entered the Write Club (http://dlcruisingaltitude.blogspot.com/p/write-club-2012.html) which has a "write-off" for two contest entries every week until October, when the winners will face each other. How do you find these contests?LaurenLauren-ritz.blogspot.com

  4. Mel Chesley says:

    Good job on that second draft! Good luck with those contests, I'll be waving a flag for you and cheering. 😉

  5. Kathleen says:

    @Rachel Schieffelbein Thanks!@Lauren One of the ones I entered was the WRiTE CLUB, too!! Good luck! The other one is hosted by three bloggers I follow, one of them is Mrs. Snark's First Victim who has a LOT of contests on her blog. If you don't already follow her you should! Here's a link: http://misssnarksfirstvictim.blogspot.com/@Mel Chesley Thanks=)

  6. Jeannette says:

    Good for you for finishing two first drafts so quickly! It probably felt like you couldn't type fast enough… My first-born is starting full-day kindergarten in Sept too, so I'm feeling melancholy about that as well. Nothing shows us the passage of time quite like watching our children grow up. PS. I'm a newbie, so maybe you can give me some hints as to where to look for a critique group? Everyone has been saying I need to find critique partners, and I do, but where do I look??Good luck with revisions, rewrites, and letting go in September!

  7. Kathleen says:

    @Jeannette I emailed you a response because it would have been too long to put in the comments! It is a great question though and one I think would be a great for a post about finding crit partners! Hope I was able to help with the email!

  8. I'm excited about the school year, but at the same time I want to enjoy every ounce of summer before it comes. I homeschool my daughters (my oldest used to need to run around the house between every math problem and learned her ABCs and did basic math skills standing up or jumping – never diagnosed with ADHD but very wiggly). My writing is . . .in that "almost, but not quite, when will it ever be finished?" stage with one WIP, and the other is waiting impatiently in rough draft form for further work, then I have this other novel that keeps poking at me for attention. The school year is going to mean earlier mornings for my writing, and writing with speed during my daughters' dance classes – I can write an amazing amount in 75 minutes if I have an idea before I sit down.

  9. Brinda says:

    Hi Kathleen. It's nice to meet you. Thanks for the comments on my IWSG post today. I came over to read and bring you a cookie. *passes chocolate chip* Congrats on your accomplishments and being able to query soon! I have an MS I keep revising since I'm not happy with it and am listening to some good feedback.

  10. You're doing fantastically! Good luck with your revisions. I'm looking forward to school starting this month, but dreading it a bit. I'm not sure how my little guy is going to manage as he doesn't like to be separated from me. I'd like to have two mornings a week to myself, but I'm worried about it.

  11. I'm sorry about your daughter bt it looks like everything will be okay – and good luck with your revisions! avantikachitturi.blogspot.com

  12. Congrats on what you have accomplished in such a short time. That is encouraging. Good luck with your critique group. I am going to be in the editing phase for September and October as well. Looking forward to edits. How about you?

  13. It's really nice to hear about someone feel optimistic! It's hard, with all these insecurities running around. Ugh.

  14. J.W. Alden says:

    Sounds like you're doing all of the right things! Keep up the good work and good luck on those contests. I've only entered one writing contest before. I was fortunate enough to win it, but I ended up regretting it because I'd like to sell that story and I'm having a rough time finding a market for it (since it's now considered a reprint). But that's all beside the point. It was still a great experience and did wonders for my confidence, so I hope you win!As for the new school year, good luck. I don't have any little ones yet and I swear I don't know how you guys and gals do it!

  15. I've got some contests coming up that I'm kind excited about. Winning would be the excited part. Not winning would be the kinda part:)As for school starting back, I homeschool, so it will be less time to write.Writing is great for now. Edits: not so fun:)

Comments are closed.