The “Look” Challenge

 

If looks could kill!

Mae Clair has decided to tag me in the Look Challenge. I suspect she’s getting me back for giving her an award=)

The rules are simple.

  • Find the first place the word “look” appears your WIP and put the paragraph it belongs in on your blog.
  • Tag as many people as you want to do the challenge too.

As you know, I’m editing two WIPs right now and so I thought I’d post the first use of “look” in each.

The Gifted:

She looked a lot like her grandmother with the same heart shaped face and light, creamy skin. She even had the same black hair, though Elizabeth’s had started to gray. The only differences were her two inches on Elizabeth’s 5’4” stature and moss green eyes. No one else in her family had green eyes.

The Changeling:

It was a beautiful two story home, pale brown with white shutters, a three car garage and a large front porch. As I looked around the neighborhood I noticed our house differed from the rest -a little grander, but not by much. The main difference was the size. Most of the homes, while two stories as well, were smaller with only one or two car garages.

And there we have it. The following people may join in as they like:

Ali Cross

Alberta Ross

Elise VanCise

I’m going to stop there. Three is a good number. Not my favorite number, but a good number none the less=)

Where is the first “look” in your WIP?

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The “Look” Challenge

  1. Mae Clair says:

    I enjoyed these ‘looks’ into your WIPs, Kathleen. Thanks for playing along and tagging me back. 🙂 You painted visual images with words in both glimpses. And hey, I love the cat! I adore felines!

  2. Wonderful snippets! The look meme has been going around.

  3. Pingback: #GUTGAA Meet and Greet | Writing, Reading, and Life

Comments are closed.