What The Meaning of Sick Is (In My Household)

by arztsamui from freedigitalphotos.net

So, I went missing for a few days. I didn’t do a Thirsty Thursday, didn’t do any thanks for Thanksgiving, nor did I do a Saturday Prompt. I haven’t posted anything since the Twitter Follower Giveaway post and that was written the night before, so it doesn’t really even count.

I love blogging. I love Thirsty Thursday and the Saturday Prompt. I love getting to know you guys and telling you how NaNoWriMo is going. Last week and the past weekend had none of it though :’-(

A couple of weeks ago, I talked about how I had a sick. I thought it was a simple cold and after a couple of days I got up off the couch and returned to my daily duties (the dishes piled up something fierce, I’m telling you). BAD IDEA!

I don’t know if it was a completely new set of germs that got me or the original sick, but I went down again and for longer. Thanksgiving didn’t happen. Not on Thursday as it was supposed to anyways. We had to postpone to Sunday night. It was just my family and a family friend though, so we didn’t destroy a host of people’s plans. Thank goodness for that!

I did get to go see Breaking Dawn part 2 on Friday night though. I felt well enough, my husband felt well enough, and the timing was right. We went there and came straight home. Not much of a date and I discovered one of my last pairs of jeans had a rip in the crotch, but Breaking Dawn rocked so not all was lost 😉

I’ve should have gotten used to this last year, when I was sick or sickly for three months straight because of all the germs my daughter brought home from kindergarten. I have learned now. My kids in school equals a winter full of constant germy-sickliness and general blah. I’ve got more fun to look forward to… Anyone have any vitamin C they can share?

I spent Saturday resting with the family, watching TV and cat-napping here and there so I wouldn’t feel so horrid for the dinner. It worked. Sunday morning I woke up and felt okay enough to clean the house and cook the food. By the time six thirty rolled around, I had a family with full bellies and a nice round of FILOC* going on myself=)

Now that all that’s done with, today is about #PitchWars. I’ve picked the three mentors, and I’ve started getting my emails ready. I’m going over my first five pages again and again, double checking spelling and grammar. Same with my query. It’s fun and exciting and I don’t know if I’ll get one of the mentors I pick, but I know I’ve picked three of the best=) It was a hard decision to make because all of them were beyond awesome.

Anyways, I hope all my US friends had a good holiday weekend. I’m back at it this week with no problems=)

ALSO!! To all of my Twitter Followers, you only have a couple more days to pick what you want to win! I’ll be picking a winner on Wednesday. IT COULD BE YOU!!!

Until then, happy and healthy days to you all!!

*FILOC- Food Induced Laziness Or Coma

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What The Meaning of Sick Is (In My Household)

  1. It sounds like we had similar weekends! My fiancee and I were all set to have a romantic day off Wednesday when, lo! I was attacked hard Tuesday. I wasn’t feeling super on Thursday, but by that point, my fiancee was feeling worse. (Thank goodness for my son’s grandmas taking him Wednesday evening!) We were all out of sorts through most of the weekend, which meant it wasn’t at all the weekend I’d planned . . . but in retrospect, the downtime was kinda nice. Next time, hopefully I’ll just opt for it without a bunch of bugs to force it upon me! Here’s hoping we all stay well in the many months ahead. 🙂

  2. I’m glad you’re better. I have no idea what my sickness was, but it was partly spent in the bathroom! I’m just happy it moved through me quick. I blame it on the in-laws! I did enjoy sleeping most of Saturday, though.

    • Yeeesss!! Sleep is so fun when you’re sick! It’s the only way to forget that you are! Now, I envy you a Saturday spent sleeping! Mine was just spent laying on the couch and delegating to the family, lol=)

Comments are closed.