The Truth About the Truth

by Lynn Kelley via WANA Commons on Flickr.com (CC)

You’ll hear it all over the internet, from the mouths of hundreds of authors and writers, and in hundreds of advice books: If you want to write, put butt in chair.

There are people out there who spout the “Write Every Day!” philosophy, and if it works for them, awesome.

There are those out there who write whether they have snot streaming out of their noses and can do nothing but mouth-breathe.

And the great thing about all of that is the one truth that… Writing is Rewriting.

There’s one thing these truths don’t touch upon though…. The hidden sickness. The thing that lurks at the periphery and hints at something wrong, but you just don’t know what and neither do the doctors.

It’s times like these when the truth about the truth becomes bullshit.

Sometimes, putting butt in chair is the last thing you need to do.

Sometimes that snot running down your nose needs more attention than the screen.

Sometimes the only thing you can do is walk away from the writing and take care of yourself.

I want to tell you one thing and I want you to realize this above all other writing advice out there…

IF THERE IS NO YOU, THERE IS NO BOOK/STORY.

So, for the sake of your health, get the hell away from that computer, stop feeling guilty and get yourself better!!

 

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in Life, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Truth About the Truth

  1. Awesome advice. Thank you for this.

  2. Haha, ain’t that the truth? Enough guilt trips people! 😉 Great post!

  3. Excellent advice! A healthy writer makes for a healthy story.

  4. Hetal says:

    hehe, I feel like you’re speaking directly to me. I have decided to take your advice and get my butt out of the chair. Must find drugs now – OTC ones, I swear!

  5. *stands and applauds*
    Well said, Kathleen! Last Christmas, I ran myself into the ground doing the 11 hour day job and all of the stuff that we writers have to do, as I pushed myself toward my 2 week vacation which began Christmas Eve. Guess what? All of that writing I was going to get done never happened as I ended up sick for the whole two weeks!
    Great advice. Sometimes we absolutely need to get away and take that rare break.
    Thanks for stepping up onto that soapbox.

    -Jimmy

    • It needed to be said! I’ve seen so many well known writers say that you should write even if you’re sick. If it’s cathartic writing, I believe in it, but if it’s writing just because you have a deadline, all you’re going to do is make yourself sicker. I wrote this post as a response to a writer friend who is having a health scare right now. No one knows what’s going on, but they know something is wrong and it’s freaking her out. I cannot stress enough how important it is to keep yourself healthy or get yourself healthy so you CAN do the writing you love to do.
      If you have the sniffles, take the day off.
      If you have the flu, for the love of all that is, go lie down!
      If you are sick and don’t know what’s going on, take the time you need to find out and fix it, no matter how long that takes.
      I love my friend’s writing, but I’d rather have her around for a long time than have her so stressed from all the health problems and still trying to get everything done that she burns herself out for good.
      Get healthy, then get writing.

  6. Pingback: Confront The Truth | Our Birth Write

Comments are closed.