The Next Big Thing

I have been unofficially tagged in this wonderful writing meme by one of the #PitchWars Mentors, Dahlia Adler. I say unofficially because she suggested anyone who is going to do the #PitchWars should do this meme or one like it. I asked for an example and she obliged by sending me a link to hers=)

[UPDATE: She officially tagged me and a few others via Twitter! ūüėČ ]

So, here goes.

1. What is the title of your book?

The Gifted

2. Where did the idea come from for the book?

I’ve talked about this a bit before, but it was basically my wondering what would happen if a girl from our world ended up in the world created by Robert Jordan and his Wheel of Time series.

3. What genre does your book fall under?

YA Contemporary Fantasy

4. Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

What a question! This is something I haven’t really thought about, but it looks like it’s time… Hmmm

My main character, Jane, would probably be played by a young¬†Kristin Kreuk. Think Smallville young. She’s innocent, smart, and doesn’t take BS from anyone.

For her love interest, Daniel, I had to choose¬†Stephen Amell. Of course, he would have to be younger… For her. I’m just fine with him the way he is, but we’re going for someone my MC’s age.

For Jane’s Grandmother, Elizabeth, there is not one I could think of other than Helen Mirren. There’s a timeless beauty and regal quality¬†to her that just fits perfectly.

Blythe Danner would be perfect as Helen, Elizabeth’s younger sister and Jane’s Aunt.

5. What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

Jane’s life turns upside-down when she ends up in a world where magic is real and someone wants to kill her.

6. Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

That is a good question! I plan on querying agents, but I haven’t ruled out¬†self-publishing as a possibility.

7. How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

It took me about a year. There was a long break in there where I wrote another book for NaNo 2011.

8. What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

That is a good question. There’s Harry Potter, in the fact that my MC enters a world filled with magic, though it isn’t hidden within OUR world. Then there’s The Wheel of Time series which gave me the idea, though mine is more contemporary fantasy instead of epic fantasy. So… Yeah.

9. Who or what inspired you to write this book?

Aside from the answer to number 2, once I came up with the idea, I just sat down and started writing it.

10. What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

There are tyrants, assassination attempts, family discord, an exploding forest, talking horses, and three thousand people killed in one go just to name a few extra tidbits. Also, there’s no insta-love between my MC and her love interest.

So, that’s it. I’m supposed to tag others, but I’ll leave that up to others interested in #PitchWars=) And. Ya know… Anyone else who wants to as well=)

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in The Gifted, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Next Big Thing

  1. That sounds really interesting. I enjoy the Wheel of Time books, but I’d only want to live there if I were an Aes Sedai!

    • I’d rather be one of the “Wise Women” in the series… They live SOOOO much longer, lol! Oh, and not as many politics to deal with;-) Are you looking forward to the last book coming out in January?

  2. Pingback: The Next Big Thing (Week 25) - Laura VanArendonk Baugh

Comments are closed.