Insecure Writer’s Support Group: #NaNoWriMo 2012 Edition

It’s the first Wednesday of November, which means it’s time for the Insecure Writer’s Support Group (IWSG)! The brainchild of Ninja Master Alex J. Cavanaugh, the IWSG is here for you to spill your latest insecurities or inspire your fellow writers.

This month, in honor of National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo), I choose to inspire 🙂

For the first time NaNo-er, the idea of writing a 50,000 word novel in one month can feel like this:

It’s intimidating. It’s downright terrifying sometimes. But what you need to remember is that NaNo isn’t just about sprinting to the end all willy-nilly. It’s about pushing yourself to write that novel, to see how much you can write in one day if you really, really try, and to say, “Yes. I did write a novel!” even if you don’t finish it by the end of November.

Case in point. Last year, I pushed myself harder than I had before or since and in one day I was able to write 5000 words. That’s huge. My previous best had been 2000. I discovered that when I really try and don’t give in to those oh so fun distractions of Twitter and Facebook and YouTube, I can pump out a lot of words. Not all of them were horrible either, which was a plus;-)

There are days where you’re going to feel like this:

And look like this:

And that’s okay. Truth be told, I look like that ( ^ ) most days, so you’re in good company 😉 When NaNo is over, whether or not you made the 50,000 words goal, the point is YOU WROTE WORDS!! That’s the first step! Good job!!

For those that do finish and go back to read your novel a couple of weeks later and react like this:

Don’t worry. You can revise. Everyone has to, you included. NO ONE writes a perfect first draft and that’s exactly what NaNo is going to help teach you. You’ll hear it more than once, and not just from me, but WRITING IS REWRITING. NaNo is to get that first draft done and out-of-the-way. You can spend more time making that thing sparkle through the next few weeks after November.

So, when you reach the end of NaNo and you look and feel like this:

Just remember, you are not alone. I’m right there, looking just like that along with you, and dancing through it all 😉

 

 

Now, go finish NaNo whatever way you can, be it with a finished first draft, or the beginning of a first draft. And just remember, every writer out there has been where you are now. And with IWSG, we’re here to help you through!

 

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in Insecure Writer's Support Group, IWSG and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Insecure Writer’s Support Group: #NaNoWriMo 2012 Edition

  1. That is so cool, Kathleen and I am inspired and motivated. Thanks so much. Good luck with Nano.

  2. kellyhashway says:

    Um, Jensen and Jared can cheer me on anytime. Although, I don’t think a lot of writing would get accomplished. Yum!

  3. patnewcombe says:

    I absolutely love your clips! Brilliant. I can relate to all of them – sadly!!!

  4. Hah! I love the clips–especially the last one. 😀

  5. Marla says:

    Your post is awesome! I forgot to do mine today, but I concur with all your above craziness. I’m about 15K words in to a crappy first draft. I dislike it, but its true, writing really is rewriting, rewriting and rewriting again. 😛 Good luck on your NaNo project! 😀

  6. Heather Murphy says:

    This was awesome!

  7. What a post! I laughed at those clips. Those are perfect! If I had Dean Winchester telling me I’m awesome, I could write ten thousand words a day… well, if I could stop staring at him long enough to do so! NaNoWriMo is a fantastic experience. I hope to do it every November for the rest of my life.

    • Seriously, I’m a Dean girl all the way! If I sat down to write with him watching me and telling me I’m awesome, I’d have thousands of words of gibberish, lol=)

  8. Pingback: Thirsty Thursday Blog Roundup: #NaNoWriMo 2012 Edition Week 2 | Writing, Reading, and Life

  9. Such a good post, I’m smiling!

  10. Miranda Hardy says:

    I love those pictures, and how you captured the moods so well. Lol

    It’s been a hectic week, but I’m glad you’re there for me.

  11. lexacain says:

    It’s nice you’re cheerleading for all the NaNo-ers. I think they need all the help they can get. Go, o ye brave NaNo-ers! 🙂

  12. Rubab says:

    i m scared at first expression so no nano!!!!!!!!
    but writing a novel is a good idea

  13. Now that’s some good, positive NaNo motivation!
    Glad you are full steam ahead. Don’t stop.

  14. These images are friggin’ hilarious! I especially love the guy who’s typing every word he can think of. Good luck with Nano. As for me, I’m heading to my writing space today and I’m determined to really crank it out.

Comments are closed.