What Cat Ballerinas, Captain America, and Mitt Romney Have In Common

Last week was Halloween. That means costumes, Trick or Treat, and candy galore. These are the staples of this crazy holiday where kids dress up and allowed to knock on strangers’ doors. Sugar highs push kids to the point of crashing on the floor with their butts sticking up in the air, dead to everything except their own fluffy dreams.

Kids have it easy.

For me, Halloween is more than just getting the kids costumed and checking their candy for unwanted treats. It’s an exercise in time management and patience. There is so much family to see, we have to plan to do that before the real trick or treating begins. That means having the kids dressed and pictures at home taken at least half an hour early, supper needs ready and eaten an hour earlier than normal, and chores need done before the food is on the table.

I’m one of those people with a set way of doing things and when something causes me to have to deviate, panic attacks ensue. Now, everything I do has a tentative time schedule, so doing things at one time one day and at another time another day is just fine… It’s the accumulation of things getting in the way, pushing everything back farther and farther, that causes chest pains and tunnel vision.

Still, for the kids, I’ll change things around.

And it’s worth it:

Caterina — Played by Princess
Captain America — Played by Little Man

By the time we got home, they had so much fun and got so much candy, they crashed before they could even eat any!

I didn’t dress up myself, but just went as “A figment of your imagination.” It’s easy and requires nothing more than my comfy clothes. Of course, by the end of the night I became The Bag Lady. The kids would run up to me after every house and hand me their bags full of candy until we got to the next house. More often than not, Little Man went running up to the house without his candy bag 🙂 He’d come running back up to me going “Oops!” The little dude’s fast too. Almost four and he could be an olympian. Seriously.

Princess was more interested in saying “Meow” than “Trick or treat!” Then again, she was a cat ballerina. And cats can’t talk. 😉

Oddly enough, our little town turned out to be a huge political hotspot too. Who knew Presidential Candidate Mitt Romney was such a huge fan of candy?

“I will bring candy to the American people!”

There were rumors of President Barack Obama roaming the houses in search of sweets as well, but I didn’t see him.

By the time we got home, got the kids in bed, and got the candy sorted, I was exhausted. I couldn’t even stay up to watch Supernatural! The clock read 10:02 when I crashed out in my bed, my shows waiting for me on the DVR.

How did you celebrate Halloween? Did you dress up?

(NaNoWriMo Update – At the time of posting this, I have 9600 words written:-))

 

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in Life, Little Man, Princess and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What Cat Ballerinas, Captain America, and Mitt Romney Have In Common

  1. Such great photos! We had a fun Halloween. One of my son’s friends from school came over and we took them trick-or-treating. They didn’t quite get into it, but the candy was eaten fast! Awesome word count for NaNo!

Comments are closed.