What Coats and Laptops Have In Common

I went to Wal-Mart yesterday with Little Man. It was an impromptu visit, happening only because it was forty-nine degrees out and I didn’t have a coat. The kids and Hubs have coats, but I had bypassed my own coat buying because I thought I had more time. Yeah. It’s the end of October and I thought I had more time to buy a friggin’ coat. (Also, I decided it would be a good idea to replace those jeans I threw away because I ripped them on a handle to a drawer in the kitchen. Yeah, you heard me right.)

I also splurged and got these awesome Kitty Kat fingerless gloves=)

Ignore the chipped fingernail polish.

Anyways, I have this habit every time I go to Wally World. I stop by the electronics department and check out all the laptops. You see, I don’t have one.

GASP!

I know! I’m so behind the times! And a writer to boot!

There is a reason for this. Whenever we have a little extra money that could go towards on a laptop for me, I decide to put that aside and instead use the money on the kids. Up till now, I was okay with that, but something has changed.

Both of my kids are old enough now, they enjoy playing games on the computer. Nick Jr and PBSkids are both on the bookmarks bar of Internet Explorer where they are easily seen and clicked. But we only have one computer. This desktop is where I do my writing and Tweeting, where the kids play their games, and where Hubs syncs his music. It’s crowded.

So, this time, I’m going to be a little selfish-that’s-not-so-selfish*. The next time the stars align and we end up with a little extra money to put somewhere, I’m getting a laptop. I’ve already picked out the one I want. It’s cheap and small, but it meets my needs which are simple. I have flash drives and SD cards galore in the house which makes it easy for storage since the laptop doesn’t have much and I’ll need that for Chrome, Scrivener, and TweetDeck. I got my priorities straight, let me tell you.

I’m excited by the prospect of having a laptop. I’ll be able to take it places so I can write AT THOSE OTHER PLACES. I think the first time I try it, I’ll be too excited that I’m outside of the house with the intention to write I probably won’t be able to. So, just to warn you: One day soon you may see a bunch of tweets from me talking about how awesome it is to be out of the house and still surfing the web. I’ll probably drive all around town looking for hot spots.

It’s the little things, ya know?

But, I digress.

My needs are simple, and the price is right. I’m ready for my laptop.

*By this I mean that I am absolutely being selfish, but other people benefit from it too since my kids will be able to play games and I will be able to sit on the couch and watch TV with Hubs like he begs me to do all the time and still get writing done**.

**My God, that was a long sentence.

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in Life, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What Coats and Laptops Have In Common

  1. Such cute gloves! I rarely buy anything for myself too. You deserve to treat yourself once in a while. 🙂 For my birthday this year, I decided it was time for a laptop as well. I’ve always avoided using my husband’s. I always told myself my PC was fine for me, but the laptop is fantastic. Totally helped my productivity. I got an Acer Aspire One. Small, cheap, and perfect for my writerly needs. Have you decided what kind you want?

    • The one I’m looking at is Acer as well, but I don’t know the specifics. I have a Kindle Fire that I use on occasion to do writing away from the desk, but it’s usually journal entries and blog posts. And the gloves are AWESOME!! The family already knows, when I have them on, I’m in my Writer Zone and should not be bothered, lol=)

Comments are closed.