Recent Reads

Open Minds

By Susan Kaye Quinn

When everyone reads minds, a secret is a dangerous thing to keep.
Sixteen-year-old Kira Moore is a zero, someone who can’t read thoughts or be read by others. Zeros are outcasts who can’t be trusted, leaving her no chance with Raf, a regular mindreader and the best friend she secretly loves. When she accidentally controls Raf’s mind and nearly kills him, Kira tries to hide her frightening new ability from her family and an increasingly suspicious Raf. But lies tangle around her, and she’s dragged deep into a hidden world of mindjackers, where having to mind control everyone she loves is just the beginning of the deadly choices before her.

This was a fun book set in a futuristic America where reading minds is the norm and not being able to makes you a second class citizen. Aside from a few issues I had with the main character (back and forth on her decisions, never learning) it was a fun story.

My star review:

 Closed Hearts

By Susan Kaye Quinn

When you control minds, only your heart can be used against you.

Eight months ago, Kira Moore revealed to the mindreading world that mindjackers like herself were hidden in their midst. Now she wonders if telling the truth was the right choice after all. As wild rumors spread, a powerful anti-jacker politician capitalizes on mindreaders’ fears and strips jackers of their rights. While some jackers flee to Jackertown—a slum rife with jackworkers who trade mind control favors for cash—Kira and her family hide from the readers who fear her and jackers who hate her. But when a jacker Clan member makes Kira’s boyfriend Raf collapse in her arms, Kira is forced to save the people she loves by facing the thing she fears most: FBI agent Kestrel and his experimental torture chamber for jackers.

The second book in the Mindjack series, I enjoyed this one more than the first. The issues I had with the first were still there concerning the main character, but lessened. She seemed more willing to change, though most of that change – if it does happen – won’t happen until the third book.

My star review:

Family Magic

By Patti Larsen

Sixteen-year-old Sydlynn Hayle is the daughter of a powerful witch and a demon lord of the seventh plane. The trouble is, she just wants to be ordinary. Syd struggles to survive the minefield of her new high school while being torn between her attraction to football hero Brad Peters and the darkly mysterious Quaid Moromond. When her coven comes under attack, Syd is forced to face the fact only her power can save her family’s magic.

I won this book (as well as the next three in the series) through a contest and am soooooo thankful for it! Aside from a few typos (Kindle Edition), this book is an easy and fun read. I love the main character’s snark and her absolutely-teenage attitude. The plot and sub-plots were spot-on and fit together well.

My star review:

Witch Hunt

By Patti Larsen

Teen witch Sydlynn Hayle finally did it. Despite the fact she’s a social outcast, Syd finally made friends. Even the captain of the football team wants to be her boyfriend. When an ancient power is freed to ravage her new town, Syd does her best to help her family fight. Too bad the mysterious Chosen of the Light don’t see things her way. Their interference could lead to her family’s destruction.

Book two in the Hayle Coven Novels is just as good as book one and shows a lot of character growth for the MC, Sydlynn. It’s at this point that I think I’m becoming addicted to a new series=)

My star review:

Demon Child

By Patti Larsen

Syd has only ever wanted to be normal. And now that the rift between her and her demon is growing wider, that future is finally a real possibility. But Syd is having second thoughts, especially when a vampire kidnaps her little sister, Meira. And her normal life at school is falling apart around her, thanks to the new kid, Benjamin, who seems to be an expert at turning her new friends against her. Syd finally understands the value of what she has, but may be too late. The demon inside her has her own agenda and will no longer be ignored.

This is where I start losing sleep because I can’t stop reading.

My star review:

The Wild

By Patti Larsen

Syd has what she’s always wanted. Thanks to her demon’s sacrifice, she is finally normal. Why then does she want her magic back so badly? It really sucks to find out Brad was only into her because of her power. And even Quaid is keeping his distance. Her loss couldn’t have come at a worse time. A storm is brewing, one that could devour the entire world. Syd refuses to accept she will never be a witch again, doing everything she can to track down the Chosen of the Light and rescue her demon. If only the ordinary life she’s been building didn’t interfere.

The family coven is really starting to tick me off. Will they ever freaking listen?!?! I’m so into this series now, Hubs has stopped asking what’s up when I squeal, snort, or jump up off of the couch with my hand raised in triumph.

My star review:

The Long Lost

By Patti Larsen

A Dumont Witch

“That talk you promised me?” I hated myself for throwing it in Quaid’s face, but I couldn’t help myself, couldn’t. I’d waited for this moment, for him, we’d been through so much together it just wasn’t fair.

Wasn’t.

“Things are complicated now.” Quaid looked away from me, hands clenching. “I just wanted to let you know I was okay. That I found my family. And to tell you I’m happy.”

Syd’s worst fear has come true. Quaid found his family, the Dumont coven, and has chosen them over her. Not to be outdone, her friends are all going their separate ways, her solid normal foundation falling out from beneath her. When the Dumonts come for a visit, Syd’s family history unfolds, leading her to discover things that shake her beliefs about herself and those she loves while struggling to accept she’s lost her one true love.

Necks. I want to reach through this book and wring them. I’ve finally accepted that I am, in fact, addicted to this series and regret nothing.

My star review:

Gatekeeper

By Patti Larsen

The Call of the Sidhe

The Gate awaits me, shining splendor glowing in the pale light. I look up, see the moon hanging over me, full and bloated, speaking a promise of freedom.

The otherworld portal begins to hum a welcome as I move closer, calling me. But as I draw near, a great tension takes me over, a suffocating terror that grows, fed by the call of the Gate and the moon, until I cry out for it to end.

Syd had been hoping grade twelve would go smoothly. But it’s not even the first day of class and she’s dreaming about some Sidhe gate and an approaching threat. Before she can enlist her mother’s help, her grandmother Ethpeal disappears, presumably gone after the Dumonts. Miriam pursues her mother, leaving Syd in charge of the coven. All fine and good, except no one trusts or believes in her. Add to that her new friend, Liam, seems somehow tied to the dreams she’s having, threats from Celeste and the fact Meira is suddenly acting like a little brat and Syd has her hands full. Maybe too full. 

Someone is knocking at the Gate and she has no way of answering.

Thank you Jeebus, it’s not a triangle. Also, Alison’s Dad is just as much an a-hole as her mother. I would reach through and wring his neck too except he’s not once made an appearance, even through his daughter’s issues. What a douche. (I don’t at all feel strongly about this, obviously.)

My star review:

Thank goodness I own the next two books in the series. I know I’m going to go through withdrawal once I’m done with #8 and while I wait for #9 to come out. It’s a good thing I have way too many books in my TBR pile to read in my lifetime already. Gives me something to do while I wait for my next Hayle Coven fix=)

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in Reading, Recent Reads and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.