2012 Bartholomew County Writer’s Conference

On October 6th, I attended my very first writers conference=)

It was a small conference, lasting only a day with local authors (of the Hoosier kind) speaking about all things writing. I had a great time, learning as much as my mind could handle in one day and still function enough for the drive home.  I’ve already told you about my adventures on the way there and back. Now it’s time to tell you what happened while in the Crump Theatre.

Instead of taking you through the entire day, I thought I’d highlight the authors/speakers who drew my attention most.

  1. C.S. MarksWriting Fantasy – Taking Your Readers on the Journey — I write YA Fantasy, which is why her portion of the day was so valuable to me. She discussed world-building, character driven story, and how well self-publishing has gone for her. I hadn’t read her books before, but bought a novella based on the world she created and became an instant fan.
  2. James Alexander ThomKeynote Speaker — He spoke extensively on his career, including the differences between a movie and the book it’s based on. His humor was honest and sincere and I truly enjoyed being in the audience while he spoke.
  3. Suzanne PurewalPursuing My Passion — Hers was an inspiring speech about how writing is her passion and if it is your passion as well, you must pursue it. She talked about her personal experience with cancer and how it helped her to put aside the fears and naysayers and push to fulfill her dream of being a writer. I came away from this feeling inspired.
  4. Ron CollinsSecond Drafts and Beyond: Rewriting and rewriting again! — I needed this one. He had such a detailed explanation of how he does revisions and rewriting, I couldn’t take notes fast enough!!

All in all, I learned quite a bit and a blast, even pushing past my intorvertedness and asking a couple of questions during the panel at the end*. Which, only used up my quota for the next year. Anyways, while it was a smaller conference, it was still valuable for my continued growth as a writer. I’m glad I went 🙂

(*The questions I asked were about social media and blogging – I wanted to know their opinions on marketing and platform/brand building – and the last book each of them read. I wish I could remember all the other books, but Jodi Picoult was one of them.)

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 2012 Bartholomew County Writer’s Conference

  1. Sharon Jones says:

    Hi Kathleen!

    Wow! Not only am I jealous about the writer’s conference, but that you were able to hear James Alexander Thom speak! That must have been awesome…

    I read his book, Follow the River, years ago; it’s one of those books that make you feel like YOU ARE THERE! And I can only imagine what he said about the difference between his book and the horrible movie they made it into…(they even changed the ending, which was really stupid, since the book was based on a real person and what she really went through)
    Anyway, I wish I had been there. 🙂

    Sharon

    PS. Thank you so much for the Sunshine award! I finally had time to “accept” it and tag ten more awesome bloggers! It’s so much fun to meet new writers and check out their blogs. I am really enjoying yours, Kathleen. And I totally get that stressed out with too much blogging/social networking thing. I had to cut down on my blogging this year too – in order to get my edits and re-writes done. (I also have two blogs and do all that face-booking (personal and writer page) and twittering stuff. (although I still really don’t “get” twitter like I do FB.) It gets to be overwhelming at times, and I just have to turn the internet off now and then.

    Have a great day!

  2. Sharon Jones says:

    Hi Kathleen!

    Wow! Not only am I jealous about the writer’s conference, but that you were able to hear James Alexander Thom speak! That must have been awesome…

    I read his book, Follow the River, years ago; it’s one of those books that make you feel like YOU ARE

    THERE! And I can only imagine what he said about the difference between his book and the horrible movie they made it into…(they even changed the ending, which was really stupid, since the book was based on a real person and what she really went through)
    Anyway, I wish I had been there. 🙂

    Sharon

    PS. Thank you so much for the Sunshine award! I finally had time to “accept” it and tag ten more awesome bloggers! It’s so much fun to meet new writers and check out their blogs. I am really enjoying yours, Kathleen. And I totally get that stressed out with too much blogging/social networking thing. I had to cut down on my blogging this year too – in order to get my edits and re-writes done. (I also have two blogs and do all that face-booking (personal and writer page) and twittering stuff. (although I still really don’t “get” twitter like I do FB.) It gets to be overwhelming at times, and I just have to turn the internet off now and then.

    Have a great day!

    http://color-me-read.blogspot.com/

  3. Hi Kathleen,
    I hope you don’t get multiple comments from me…I tried earlier this morning to post a comment, and apparently it didn’t work. Now that I’m logged in with FaceBook, I’m hoping it works!

    I am so jealous that you got to hear James Alexander Thom! I read his book, Follow the River years ago. I can only imagine what he said about the movie they (tried) to make about the book…they did a horrid job, even changing the ending, which was really stupid, considering it was based on a true story!!

    Anyway, I just wanted to tell you how jealous I am, and to also thank you again for that Sunshine Award. I finally found some time to post it on my blog, and to tag 10 more awesome bloggers! It’s so much fun to meet new authors, isn’t it? By the way, I am totally enjoying your blog!
    Thanks again!
    Sharon 🙂
    http://color-me-read.blogspot.com/

  4. Sounds like a great time! The rewriting one is something I would’ve loved too. That’s where my biggest problems come in.

    • Soooo useful for the rewrites I have to do on The Changeling. He said you can find it on his website (his formula for rewrites/revisions), but I haven’t been able to find it yet. Good thing I took a LOT of notes=)

Comments are closed.