Prepping for NaNoWriMo

It’s October, which means National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) is just around the corner. I’m still uncertain as to whether or not I’m going to participate. I have an idea for a book that I’m brainstorming right now, but I don’t know if I will have the time to participate. At least, not officially. Even if I don’t put my name down absolutely, I will have a goal for the month of November.

There are two possibilities. One, I do the book I’m brainstorming after spending this month getting it ready and outlined. Two, I do all the rewrites on The Changeling that need to get done (and it is the equivalent of writing a whole other book). I would like to get The Changeling done, but it’s such a major rewrite that I feel it’s going to take longer than a month and it’s something I don’t want to rush. But if I do the new idea, I don’t want it to end up like The Changeling, which was last year’s NaNo project (in other words, I don’t want to have to rewrite the entire thing just because I rushed through it for NaNo).

Whichever I choose to do, if I do participate officially, I’m not going to rush it. Even if I don’t make the 50,000 goal.

Are you participating in NaNoWriMo this year?

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Prepping for NaNoWriMo

  1. I am doing it, but going to use it to finish an older story and then begin a new one. And it was my goal at the beginning of the year and this has been a good year for goal reaching. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Will you be boarding the NaNo Train? « Dave Farmer

  3. Dave Farmer says:

    That’s a healthy attitude to have! At least starting something is better than constantly thinking about it. Not everyone has the time to devote to such a challenge but even using the event to kick previous novel into shape is well worth it.

  4. Pingback: Update on “me and the NaNoWriMo” ;-) | Zara ~ a writing story

  5. Pingback: shanjeniah

  6. I told myself I was going to stick with my current novella series and make that my NaNo project, but a new story idea has pushed its way into my mind. So I’m doing a superhero story! I’m going to try to pace myself this year and be more realistic. Though sometimes I get caught up in the excitement! 🙂 Good luck.

Comments are closed.