When the Busy Happens

I didn’t realize until last night that I had only written one post for last week. Wow. I try to blog at least twice a week, but time slipped away and hid under the bed. Ce la vie. Sometimes Life. There was no sickness for an excuse this time though. Mainly, it was all just bad time management. I got so involved in #GUTGAA and all the amazing writers there that I forgot a lot of other things. Like editing and critiques and cooking supper and sleeping and… Yeah. Anyways, I didn’t make it to the agent round, but I got a lot of great feedback that I’m going to incorporate into my query and first 150. There are other contests coming up and I’m going to be ready for them=)

My mood has slipped lately too. I’ve been extremely forgetful and generally down in the dumps. I didn’t know what was going on, but I finally figured it out: I haven’t been reading lately. Who knew that reading could lift my mood so much? Anyways, I’ve got a lot of great books in my TBR pile and something special I’m cooking up for the Thirsty Thursday blog that requires rereading a great book. I’ve had one of my IRL friends drop off a bunch of books for me and my sister and I continue to exchange books we think each other will like. Soon enough, I’ll have another Recent Reads post=)

I’ve been trying to figure out what rewrites need to go into The Changeling. I was a little upset to realize I’d made a mistake thinking I’d have it ready to query by October. It’s soooo not ready. No where near, and there are so many rewrites. I’m practically going to have to rewrite the entire thing.

*cue panic attack*

 

This is what I get for trying to pants the thing. There are some great parts in it that are a must keep and all the characters are absolutely essential but not necessarily as they are, now I just have to re-plot, outline, and rewrite. I was hoping to have the plan and outline done by Thursday, but I think this may take a bit more thought. I may do the rewrites for NaNoWriMo this year, but I don’t know if I’ll be able to participate officially. We’ll see.

Anyways, enough blathering. For now, I’m going to go watch a clock until midnight when I can go buy AVENGERS. Who else is getting it?

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in blog, Life, Reading, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to When the Busy Happens

  1. Hey Kathleen, I’ve had the same feeling lately about being a little off kilter and two days ago I wrote about 1,000 words in an unfinished WIP and for some reason the fog lifted. I felt so much better. So much so, that I did it again the next day and again my mind was clear to tackle the other million things on my to do list. I think there is something to it.
    Let me know if I can help with anything.

  2. Hello, Kathleen. I used to try and post multiple times a week, but now only post once. This allows me more time to visit during the week. Anyway, no worries. Grab your copy of The Avengers and enjoy! We’ll probably grab a copy as well. It’s me and two teenaged boys, so there’s a pretty good chance. *grins*

    -Jimmy
    http://jamesgarciajr.blogspot.com/

    • Hey, James=) My three year old keeps running around with his Captain America suit on and an Iron Man helmet, lol. I have a feeling we’ll be watching it on repeat for a long time=)

  3. I keep watching the GIFs and grinning. Then I feel bad. It’s a vicious cycle…

    Anyway, I’m glad to have you back in action. Good luck with rewrites! 🙂

Comments are closed.