The Daisy Award

A big thanks to Christine Rains for giving me the Daisy award=) If you haven’t yet, stop by Amazon, Barnes & Noble, or Smashwords to get her awesome novella, Fearless.

Abby White was seven years old when she killed the monster under her bed. Now she slays creatures spawned by the fertile imaginations of children, and the number of these nightmares are on the rise. Neither she nor her guide – a stuffed hippo named Tawa – know why. When she rescues Demetrius from an iron prison, he pledges his life to protect hers until he can return the favor. She doesn’t want the help. And how can she concentrate on her job when the gorgeous wild fae throws himself in front of her during every fight? No matter how tempting, she can’t take the time to lose herself to him. To save the children and all she loves, Abby must be truly Fearless.

Now on to the award.

The rules are simple:

  • Link to the person that nominated you.
  • List seven unusual things about yourself.
  • Nominate some worthy bloggers.

1) I live near a military base. This military base explodes munitions on occasion. On those occasions, when the ground starts shaking and the bangs start happening, I don’t imagine that’s what is happening. Instead, I go straight for a gigantic robot or alien a la Cloverfield walking through town. I find it more fun this way. This is totally normal, right?

 2) I can watch the same movie over and over and over again and not get bored. I’ve done it with Serenity, Star Trek (all of them… except the first), The Core, RED, Transformers, Thor, Iron Man (1 & 2) . . . You get the idea.

 3) I have a lock box for my pens and pencils. They are mine and you can’t have any! Okay. If you really want one, but you have to give it back.

4) I got really excited when I saw Netflix is streaming Dinosaurs. I make my kids watch at least one episode every day. Okay, so they don’t watch it, but I do and I. LOVE. IT.

 5) I mix my cappuccino flavors. We don’t have a coffee shop where I live, so my capp comes from the nearby gas station. I mix English Toffee, French Vanilla, and Hot Chocolate together to make a yummy morning wake-me-up=)

 6) I say “I’m sorry” a lot. Like, when I don’t know what else to say to someone, I’ll just say I’m sorry. A lot of the time it gets me odd looks because someone will tell me something that doesn’t require apologies or sympathy. I still say it though. It’s become a habit.

 7) I can fall asleep within two minutes of lying down in bed. Usually because I’m exhausted, but also because I trained myself to do so. With two little ones waking me up at all hours of the night after my son was born, I found myself needing sleep more and more. So, I started chanting “I will fall asleep now, I will fall asleep now, I will fall asleep now” in my head when I hit the pillow. A couple of weeks later and the chant wasn’t necessary anymore and I was able to get more rest between the nightly wake-ups.

Okay. Time to tag some people… Oh! How about my wonderful CPs?

Miranda Hardy

Sydney Aaliyah

Courtney Crow Wyrtzen

What are some unusual things about you?

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in blog awards and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Daisy Award

  1. Hey Kathleen, Thank so much. Very sweet of you. I love getting awards and this one I haven’t seen before. 🙂

  2. Mark Murata says:

    Someone has finally cut down that first Star Trek movie. It’s in six parts, with music from the old Star Trek series. Cutting slow scenes from that first movie is something I wanted to for years, and there it is on the internet.

  3. Pingback: My Weekly Update – Daisies and Dinner | Sydney Aaliyah

Comments are closed.