Genre Favorites: Movies, Books, Music and the Guilty Pleasure

It’s time for another blogfest! This one is hosted by Alex J. Cavanaugh and is all about favorites=)

 

One blogfest, four favorites!

List your favorite genre of:

Movie

Music

Books

And a guilty pleasure genre from any of the three categories!

So, without further ado, I bring you my favorites!

Favorite Genre of Movie: Action

You may not believe it, but it’s true. When going to the movies, if I have a choice, I will always pick the action film. Not because I think it will make Hubs happy, but because there’s usually eye candy in it and I love me an action-y, sweaty men. Add in a little comedy into the mix and you’ve got yourself a fan for life right here. I mean, the Avengers. Seriously. It’s nothing but eye candy with some really great dialogue.

And speaking of Joss Whedon, have you seen The Cabin in the Woods yet? No? GO WATCH IT NOW!!!! Best horror movie ever, especially since it’s comedy!

Favorite Genre of Music: Radio

As long as it isn’t country*, I’m good with it. Hubs is a big Heavy Metal fan, and so I do listen to that a lot, but I would be just as happy turning on the radio and flipping the dial (or, you know, pushing a button) until I find something I like. (*It’s not that I don’t like country, it’s just that I really don’t prefer it.)

 

Favorite Genre of Books: Fantasy

I love all things fantasy. Urban fantasy, contemporary fantasy, epic fantasy. It doesn’t matter the subgenre, I love it. One of my favorite series is The Wheel of Time by Robert Jordan (and Brandon Sanderson who took over after Robert Jordan’s death). The final book in that series is set to come out in January. I can’t wait!

 

Guilty Pleasure Genre: Disaster

I love watching disaster movies. Is that a movie genre? Anyways, I will watch movies where the world ends or is in danger of ending all day long. Twister, Dante’s Peak, The Day After Tomorrow, 2012… They are all some of my favorite movies. Though, there is one movie in the disaster genre that left me more freaked out than entertained (it’s a guilty pleasure, of course these movies entertain me). The Day After. Hello freak-out of the year! If you’ve never seen this movie, even though it scared the bujeezus out of me, I do recommend it. There are some awesome performances in it.

What’s some of your favorite genres?

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Genre Favorites: Movies, Books, Music and the Guilty Pleasure

  1. Kathleen. The The Day After had been safely tucked into my suppressed subconscious until you brought it back to the surface. This movie freaked me out for years. Still does. There is one scene that stuck with me where one of the characters skin is covered in soars from the radiation poison. OMG. Terrifying.

    • Seriously! It was so controversial then, but today the thought is so scary because of the possibility. Okay. Now that I’ve scared the crap out of both of us, I’m gonna go eat chocolate and watch some Disney, lol!

  2. i like country if it’s cool country… like webb wilder [rockabilly] or arron lewis [lead of staind]… the rest is like motorboatin’ which is a song i was told i would like… boo and hiss!

    • There are the occasional country songs that I like, but they are so few and rarely on the radio. I prefer to listen to the classic rock or local college station. It’s so odd that a lot of the classic rock now-a-days is stuff I listened to as a kid and teen!

  3. Allison says:

    I do not like horror at all, but I will watch Cabin in the Woods just because of Joss Whedon!

  4. Great list! Disaster movies. Hehehe! Yeah, I’m guilty of that one too.

    • I don’t know what it is about disaster movies, but I have two theories. 1) I watch them because at least things aren’t THAT bad. Kinda cynical, but true. 2) I wonder how people really would react in a situation like that and pick characters apart based on what’s happening.

  5. Your guilty pleasure made me laugh!
    I believe Cabin in the Woods comes out on DVD tomorrow! Movie was hilarious and so over the top.
    Thanks for participating in my blogfest.

  6. LD Masterson says:

    Disaster movies. I didn’t even think of those. I remember when airplane disaster movies were all the rage (mostly in the 70’s). I guess after 9/11, they didn’t work for us anymore.

  7. Shah Wharton says:

    Love disaster movies – hate comedy horror so probably wouldn’t enjoy cabin in the woods… although I’d totally watch it if it came on TV 😛 The only time I listen to radio is in the car – my hubs seemed unable to drive without it and I’m usually trying to read! I often find it plays rubbish… I like to listen to my ipod – things I’ve chosen, but shuffled, so I still enjoy the surprise of not knowing whats up next 🙂

    • Wow! You got caught in the Spam box and I only just saw it! Sorry about that.
      Shuffle is always good. That’s what I do when I sit down to write. It’s when I’m cleaning the house (mad cleaning sprees need music) I turn on the radio on the stereo=)

  8. Heather Murphy says:

    My boyfriend likes disaster movies too. I think we have seen all the ones you mentioned plus a few more.

  9. Tamara says:

    Cabin in the Woods was a fun movie, I loved that you listed your favorite music genre as “radio” and I will watch disaster movies forever. 🙂 Oh, and my maiden name was Doyle. Did they ever call you Doyle, Doyle Tinfoil in school? You’d really think they’d have come up with something better. haha. Anyway, I’m following your blog cause us Doyle’s have to stick together. 😉

  10. …You had me at Joss. ❤

  11. Hi, Kathleen. How are you? Thanks for sharing. I love the “As long as it’s not Country” comment and totally agree! I saw the trailer for “Cabin in the Woods”, but haven’t checked it out yet. I guess I’d better, huh? Have a great weekend!

    -Jimmy
    http://jamesgarciajr.blogspot.com/

Comments are closed.