Writing Meme Tags and Award Nominations

You know, I love the writing community. I’ve found an amazing group of people to call friends, writers all, and count myself extremely lucky to know every one of them. There is so much support that it outweighs any negative forces out there. I love you people!

I am always surprised when someone tags me with either a meme or an award, and I’ve recently been tagged with one of each =)

Let’s start with the Sunshine award from A.F.E. Smith.

I’m supposed link back, answer some questions about myself, and then tag more people. Here we go:

1. What is your favorite Christmas/festive movie?

Easy. Santa Claus the Movie. The one where Dudley Moore is an elf. I LOVE that movie. I don’t do the Christmas Story marathon. I watch John Lithgow be an evil CEO of a toy company.

 2. What is your favorite flower?

I love Tiger Lilies. They are GORGEOUS!! Here, take a look:

by Patti O’Shea

 3. What is your favorite non-alcoholic beverage?

Mountain Dew. Seriously. I need a twelve-step program for the stuff.

4. What is your passion?

As a mom, the answer is my children. As a wife, the answer is my husband. As an individual, the answer is writing, reading, and life. Hence the name of the blog=) Oh! And the occasional TV show too.

5. What is your favorite time of year?

Spring. Which is weird because I absolutely love the colors of fall and Halloween and gourds. But Spring represents rebirth and renewal and hope for better things.

 6. What is your favorite time of day?

Honestly? When my kids go to bed. Don’t get me wrong. I absolutely love my kids and spending time with them, but they wear me out! When it’s time for them to go to bed, that means time for me to relax and get some writing done without as many distractions. I don’t have as much up and down to do and my ears finally stop ringing from the high pitched screams they are capable of. Instead of the frustration from the day, I have a chance to sit down and tell Hubs all about the fun stuff we did throughout the day while he was at work, all the funny things Little Man said (he’s a funny little guy=)), and how well Princess did in school. I have that chance to reflect on how lucky I am to have my family and to see them peaceful and happy.

 7. What is your favorite physical activity?

Hahahahahaha!! That’s a joke, right?… No? Oh. Okay, how about dance? I used to take dance lessons and I loved it. I don’t dance so much anymore, though I have been thinking about getting into the brand new Zumba class being offered right next to the dance studio. I tell ya, I live in a town that has all the latest stuff, lol!

8. What is your favorite vacation?

Do you mean what’s my favorite vacation spot or which vacation so far has been my favorite? I don’t have a favorite spot, but my favorite vacation so far was the time my sister and I went to Rachel, Nevada… The back door to Area 51=) It was here some of the movie Independence Day was filmed. We stayed at the Little A’Le’ Inn (love the name, lol!) and drove on the Extraterrestrial Highway. We checked out the Black Mail Box (which isn’t black anymore and is completely reinforced from all the people who’ve shot it. Seriously). We hiked through the trails far enough to get right next to the signs that warned us not to go any further if we didn’t want to get shot. A white Jeep Cherokee watched from the distance and we even drove up to the gate. At night we saw dog fights from Nellis Air Force Base and waited for our own close encounter. I had a blast=)

Now I’m supposed to nominate 10 other people for this award. Here they are:

Dorothy Dreyer

Lynn Thompson

Lisa Bilbrey

Joseph Eastwood

Savannah Rayne

Mae Clair

Sharon Jones

Pammy Pam

Tonya Cannariato

Alyson Miers

I’ve also been tagged by Ali Cross in a meme. I don’t know that it has a name (I’ve searched back a few blogs) other than Works In Progress or any accompanying picture. All I know is I’m supposed to tell you about my WIPs.

As you know, I just finished the first draft of The Gifted. I’m still working on edits/revisions on The Changeling, though I haven’t gotten as far as I would like. Too many Life issues working their way in, though I did have a good run for a couple of days when I didn’t have internet while waiting for our new provider to install it and ending up keeping the old provider (it was a mess, but that’s a whole other post). I have gotten some small amount of editing done on part of the first chapter of The Gifted, but my main focus is on The Changeling at this moment.

I’ve also got something in the works. I’m sitting and stewing on it, trying to let it work itself out before I force it into an outline. I know it’s going to be sci-fi/dystopian and I know the MC is (of course) going to be female, but I don’t know if it’s going to be YA, NA, or Adult. What I do know is that it’s going to be FUN!! I’m so excited to write this!

And I’m supposed to tag some others for this one as well…

Christine Rains

Carrie Butler

Amy McBay

J.A. Bennett

Liana Brooks

What are you working on right now?

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in blog, blog awards, Life, Reading, revision, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Writing Meme Tags and Award Nominations

  1. Sharon Jones says:

    Thanks for the sunshine award, Kathleen!

  2. Congrats on the awards! And thanks for passing one on to me. I’m working on tweaking a steampunk short story and I need to get back working on my latest paranormal novella. I’ve not had time to get back to it in a while.

  3. Mae Clair says:

    Thank you so much for the nomination, Kathleen. I’m excited about it and will be carrying on the torch later this week with nominations of my own. This was a surprise and delightful pleasure! 🙂

  4. Great! I look forward to it=)

  5. Lynn Thompson says:

    Thank You for the nomination Kathleen! I will get it up on my blog as soon as I can and pass it along:)

  6. Pingback: Mae Clair: The Sunshine Award | From the Pen of Mae Clair

  7. Pingback: The “Look” Challenge | Writing, Reading, and Life

Comments are closed.