What Was Your Childhood Monster?

PhotobucketToday is the release of Christine Rains’ new novella, Fearless! In honor of the release, she’s hosting a blogfest near and dear to the Fearless heart: What was your childhood monster? There’s still time to join in and don’t forget to pick up a copy of Fearless for your eReader!









Demons and Dragons and Ghosts… Oh, my!
Demons
I can remember being a child and lying in bed, refusing to open my eyes because I knew – I knew– that as soon as I did, the demon staring at me would take me to Hell. My family wasn’t overly religious though I was raised Catholic and went to church every Sunday. I don’t know if that had anything to do with my fear, though I’m sure there was some of the Old Testament involved in planting those suggestions into my subconscious.
The demon would sit next to my bed or hover over me, waiting for me to open my eyes so that it could… I don’t know. Take my soul? Possess me? Maybe just kill me? At this time, I shared a room with my older sister. I didn’t understand why she didn’t know the demon was there. She would stay up into the night, doing homework on her bed while I lay terrified in mine. I knew, every morning after I woke up, I had narrowly escaped and considered myself lucky.
Dragons
Photobucket
Dragon Slayers!

It wasn’t so much dragons as dinosaurs that scared me, though when I was younger, I considered them to be the same thing and very real. I don’t know why I constantly begged my mom to rent me the movie that spawned this crazy fear. I don’t remember the name of it. All I remember is terrible dubbing and pterodactyls flying around killing people on an undiscovered island. In fact, I have no idea why Mom kept renting it for me in the first place! I was a kid, maybe a bit older than Little Man and a bit younger than Princess, and yet I was watching this terribly scary and gory (for the 80s) movie. No wonder I was scared of dragons!

Ghosts
Ah, ghosts. There’s a never-ending supply of ghost stories throughout the world. I have one of my own=)
As a child, there was a closet next the the stairs that scared the crap out of me. One night, as I was going downstairs to get a drink of water, I watched as the closet door opened three inches on its own.
There are a couple things I should explain about this door. First, while it latched quite easily it would not open on its own. Second, if it was opened, you would have to hold it if you didn’t want the door to swing wide and bang against the wall. And, as everyone knows, next to the attic, closets are prime real estate for ghosts.
The door opened on its own. It only opened three inches. Knowing what we do about that particular closet door, its behavior was unnatural. Needless to say, I didn’t want to pass by the opening. Who knew what would reach out and grab me? But I was thirsty and young and I needed to warn my family that there was something in there. I knew Mom and Dad would fix it.
Again, I was able to count myself lucky since nothing grabbed me as I ran past at top speed. I must have been too fast for it. Ghosts are slow, after all… Aren’t they?
What scared you as a kid? What scares you today?


About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to What Was Your Childhood Monster?

  1. Tracy says:

    LOL! Okay, reading about the closet door literally gave me goosebumps! :D(We have a ghost too.)For me, when I was little, it was "what's looking in the window." I don't know what I expected to see, but at night, I would refuse to look out any window. (We lived in the country.) It was horrible when I was home alone (when I was old enough to stay by myself if my parents went out to a movie, etc.). We had three huge bay windows in the living room/dining room, and let me tell you, it's hard to avert your eyes all of the time!I don't know what I would have done if someone – or something – would've been looking in.*shudder*

  2. Kathleen says:

    @Tracy Man! I don't know if I 'll ever be able to look out a window at night again!! Of course, living in town, I'm more worried about the neighbors peeking in (we have a huge bay window in our living room too) than I am about something preternatural!

  3. Bob Milne says:

    It was that damned toy clown from Poltergeist that haunted my childhood. There were years where I had to leap in and out of bed for fear that he'd reach out and drag me under if my feet lingered too close to the edge. 🙂

  4. Kathleen says:

    @Bob Milne Clowns are evil in general. Add that movie to it and yeah… Nightmares for months!!

  5. Ella says:

    Poltergeist movie did it for me, too. I am not scared of Clowns..so I thought, till I went to a haunted house last year. Black n' white clowns and strobe lights…are very scary!

  6. Kathleen says:

    @Ella Seriously? I probably would have peed my pants and run screaming from the building!!

  7. Your closet door story reminded me of the attic door I was so afraid of. It opened into the bathroom and would rattle when the wind blew. It was so scary I always took really short baths.

  8. What great stories! Yeah, ghosts are slow. That's why kids have to speed around everywhere! I seem to remember a movie like you're describing, but I can't remember the name of it. Love that picture of the kids!Thanks for sharing your stories and for helping me to promote my novella. 🙂

  9. Thanks for sharing Your stries made me laugh, which is what I needed after a long day of writing. Ghost scares th beegeebees out of me, but I loved dinosaurs. As for demons, I use to think the took over my stuffed animals, so at night, I'd make sue they were not facing my bed I war the stuffed nmals always seemed to move at night

  10. Oops, meant to say I swear, the stuffed animals semed to move at night. FYI,I followed you from YLITCHAT

  11. Carrie-Anne says:

    Those are some scary stories! I've always loved ghost and poltergeist stories, but experiencing it myself might make me change my mind really fast! I was, and still am, freaked out by aliens, so much I avoid books and shows about them for fear of tempting them. At least now I'm a lot better about it, and no longer so paralyzed by fear about them.

  12. Kathleen says:

    @Susan Gourley/Kelley Is it mean that I now wish there was an entrance to the attic in our bathroom so my kids don't argue when I tell them it's time to get out of the bath? That's totally mean, right?@Christine Rains Aha! I'm not the only one that saw that movie then!! And yeah, my kids are pretty cute, especially when they're killing dragons… The bushes you see in the background? They've provided me with many a dragon heart, lol=)@Ednah Walters Hey! Thanks for stopping by! You would've hated my room as a kid! I collected stuffed animals. They filled my room!!@Carrie-Anne I've always been the kid that liked aliens. During my sophmore year of high school, my sister and I drove (I'd just gotten my license) cross country to Rachel, Nevada which is the "back gate" to Area 51. Didn't see any aliens, but had a blast anyway=)

  13. Guilie says:

    Haha–cool stories 🙂 Your ghost-in-the-closet is one I've heard often; stuff that moves when it shouldn't, when nothing explains it. Oooh, creepy! Thanks for sharing!

  14. jaybird says:

    All of your stories were scary. I think the demon one was the worst because you weren't alone, and yet were still being tormented. Great entry.

  15. Jackie says:

    Ghosts and demons scared me, too, as a child. And then, I saw the Paranormal Activity movies as an adult and holy heck! Talk about freaking out!!!Thanks for sharing your experiences!

  16. Siv Maria says:

    Creepy! Especially closter doors…LOL, they scare the hell out of me.

  17. Tree monsters. That's what got me as a kid.Today, the mundane stuff.Tim BrannanThe Other Side

  18. Allison says:

    Never heard of a kid being scared of dinosaurs! Imagination is a powerful thing.Allison (Geek Banter)

  19. Ugh, I was terrified of my OWN bedroom closet, which was rough, LOL. While looking at a house when my parents were house hunting, we walked into the basement where everything was decorated in red and black, including the bathroom, which even had red/black swirled marble. As we stood there, the crawlspace door creaked slowly open and we booked it upstairs. Needless to say, we were not interested in that house. Doors should not open on their own!My monster: http://thewarriormuse.blogspot.com/2012/08/childhood-monster-blog-fest.html

Comments are closed.