First Drafts and Blog Badges

Last week, I had to push my self-imposed deadline to finish The Gifted back a week due to unexpected Life issues getting in the way. Migraines being a huge part of it. I promised myself to cut back on my daily word count goal as well as get to the doctor go get the migraines under control. My WC goal went from 3K to 2K a day and the visit to the doctor provided me with a medicine meant to prevent migraines (and it’s packed one hell of a morning “hangover” so far… On par with super strong sleeping meds).
Then, yesterday afternoon, I FINISHED THE FIRST DRAFT OF THE GIFTED!!!!
Confetti
By ADoseofShipBoy

It was one of those surreal moments where I stared at the computer screen, knowing it was the last line I had just written, and yet unsure at the same time. It was like this with The Changeling (temporary title for my other book). I guess the idea of finishing a first draft is just too strange to me, especially since I know there’s still so much work left to be done. A first draft is called that because there are more, possibly a lot more, drafts to come.

Still though, that’s two books in a little over a year and I couldn’t be happier=)
I’m buying the champagne! Or sparkling cider for those who aren’t old enough to partake in the champagne, or just prefer the bubbly without becoming bubbly themselves=)
Now, some other stuff.
Last Tuesday, I asked you to help me pick a badge for the Thirsty Thursday blog and boy did you guys come through! The final results:
Badge One: 7 votes
Badge Two: 2 votes
Badge Three: 0 votes
As you can see, Badge One is the winner! 

Photobucket


There will be changes to Thirsty Thursday as the blog progresses, but even at it’s core right now, it’s a wonderful place to find great advice. I’m very proud of it=)

If you’re wondering about the celebration I mentioned, don’t worry. It’s coming! I’m going to wait until Thursday to announce it because I have a very special guest stopping by=) You’ll know more on Thursday! Until then, stop by Thirsty Thursday and pick up the badge to display on your own blog!

How do you react when you finish a first draft? If you haven’t finished a first draft, how do you think you’ll react?

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in first draft, Life, The Gifted, Thirsty Thursday, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to First Drafts and Blog Badges

  1. Yay! So happy you finished your first draft! That is beyond awesome! Hope you get those migraines under control 🙂

  2. Yay! So happy you finished your first draft! That is beyond awesome! Hope you get those migraines under control 🙂

  3. Kathleen says:

    @J. A. Bennett Thanks=) And I'm well on my way to getting the migraines taken care of=)

  4. Kathleen says:

    @J. A. Bennett Thanks=) And I'm well on my way to getting the migraines taken care of=)

  5. Woohoo! Congratulations, Kathleen! I added your button to my 'Linkage' slideshow for aesthetics. The real link is in the list next to your name. 🙂

  6. Woohoo! Congratulations, Kathleen! I added your button to my 'Linkage' slideshow for aesthetics. The real link is in the list next to your name. 🙂

  7. Kathleen says:

    @Carrie ButlerThanks! I'll check it out=)

  8. Kathleen says:

    @Carrie ButlerThanks! I'll check it out=)

  9. Yay! Congratulations! Enjoy the bubbly. You deserve it. I always do a little celebration for myself when I complete a first draft. Usually it include chocolate and/or ice cream. 🙂

  10. Yay! Congratulations! Enjoy the bubbly. You deserve it. I always do a little celebration for myself when I complete a first draft. Usually it include chocolate and/or ice cream. 🙂

  11. Kathleen says:

    @Christine RainsSee, now I always thought chocolate ice cream was a given when you finish a first draft, lol=)

  12. Kathleen says:

    @Christine RainsSee, now I always thought chocolate ice cream was a given when you finish a first draft, lol=)

  13. Congratulations on finishing! I'm a long way from finishing a first draft but when/if I do, I would like to start revising right away but will probably put it away for a while instead and take a break

  14. Congratulations on finishing! I'm a long way from finishing a first draft but when/if I do, I would like to start revising right away but will probably put it away for a while instead and take a break

  15. Kathleen says:

    @Heather MurphyI'm one of those that has to put it away for a while. I always come back to what I've written with fresh eyes and am either amazed or horrified at what I see… Sometimes both, lol!

  16. Kathleen says:

    @Heather MurphyI'm one of those that has to put it away for a while. I always come back to what I've written with fresh eyes and am either amazed or horrified at what I see… Sometimes both, lol!

  17. Oh wow congrats – I can't wait until the day I get to post something like this. It sounds like life has been real hectic of late so have a lie-in or something of the type. You deserve it!

  18. Oh wow congrats – I can't wait until the day I get to post something like this. It sounds like life has been real hectic of late so have a lie-in or something of the type. You deserve it!

  19. Tonja says:

    I am immediately elated when I finish a draft (all of them – first, second, tenth, whatever) and celebrate. Then I'm immediately let down. I feel a migraine coming on. It's starting to get a little difficult to focus my eyes. Awesome.

  20. Tonja says:

    I am immediately elated when I finish a draft (all of them – first, second, tenth, whatever) and celebrate. Then I'm immediately let down. I feel a migraine coming on. It's starting to get a little difficult to focus my eyes. Awesome.

  21. Kathleen says:

    @Avantika Chitturi You'll get there! And yeah, I think I might just take a nap, lol=)@Tonja Oh ouch! Lie down and get some rest. Migraines suck.

  22. Kathleen says:

    @Avantika Chitturi You'll get there! And yeah, I think I might just take a nap, lol=)@Tonja Oh ouch! Lie down and get some rest. Migraines suck.

  23. Hey Kathleen – I have a technical question to ask: How do you get that progress bar?You know the one you have on the sidebar that says:The Gifted: 100%The Changeling (Revisions): 20%

  24. Hey Kathleen – I have a technical question to ask: How do you get that progress bar?You know the one you have on the sidebar that says:The Gifted: 100%The Changeling (Revisions): 20%

  25. Kathleen says:

    @Avantika ChitturiI get the progress meters from here:http://honorless.net/progressbar.htm#note3It's pretty simple. It's got all the instructions you need to get your progress filled out and then just add it to your sidebar using the HTML gadget in Blogger Layout.If you want two meters, like I have, all you have to do is add another HTML to the same gadget with Text in between to tell what you're working on. If you have anymore questions, email me at kathleen.doyle88 (at) yahoo (dot) com and I'll help out as best I can=)

  26. Kathleen says:

    @Avantika ChitturiI get the progress meters from here:http://honorless.net/progressbar.htm#note3It's pretty simple. It's got all the instructions you need to get your progress filled out and then just add it to your sidebar using the HTML gadget in Blogger Layout.If you want two meters, like I have, all you have to do is add another HTML to the same gadget with Text in between to tell what you're working on. If you have anymore questions, email me at kathleen.doyle88 (at) yahoo (dot) com and I'll help out as best I can=)

  27. Morgan says:

    Oh my gosh… you poor thing… it's impossible to function in that kind of pain! :/

  28. Morgan says:

    Oh my gosh… you poor thing… it's impossible to function in that kind of pain! :/

  29. Kathleen says:

    @Morgan It really is! It's days when I have a migraine that my kids' healthy diets go out the window and chips and ding dongs are their meals… At least until Hubs gets home and takes over, lol=)

  30. Kathleen says:

    @Morgan It really is! It's days when I have a migraine that my kids' healthy diets go out the window and chips and ding dongs are their meals… At least until Hubs gets home and takes over, lol=)

Comments are closed.