Don’t I feel like a stinker.

Two weeks ago I gave myself a deadline to finish The Gifted. With a 3000 words a night goal and July 15th as my deadline, I set to work able to meet my goal most nights. Things were going great. I was in the groove and words flowed faster and faster the closer I got to the end. The set up for the climax was done, the war was on, and my main character had a lot pushed on her, taxing her abilities to not just survive but control her powers as well. I revealed the “HOLY SH*T” moment in the most wicked of ways (MWAHAHAHAHA!!).

And then, Friday afternoon, I started getting a headache. Now, headaches aren’t impossible to work through, so I was able to get my daily take-care-of-the-house-and-kids stuff done, but by the time supper was cooked and finished and the kids were ready for bed, I was in full blown migraine zone.
It lasted through the night and into Saturday. I got a bit of a break Saturday afternoon. Though the break didn’t last very long at all. By Saturday night, I was back in migraine-ville with a vengeance. Sunday morning I woke with it still solidly in place, but it deflated throughout the day. I ended the day with just a really bad headache and the need to buy more acetaminophen, ibuprofen, and aspirin. This sucked on more than one level. Not only on the level of PAIN!!! but on the level of daily goals not being met.
Total number of words written between Friday and Saturday: 277
Total number of words written over the entire weekend: 3277
Total number of words I was supposed to get written: 9000
That means I’m missing 5723 words and have not met my deadline. And I feel like an a$$ for it.
I’m not going to stop though. I have around 6000 words left to write to finish The Gifted on the word count goal I had set up for it originally (75K words). I had no idea I would get a migraine and did not allow for such a thing in my deadline. Lying in bed for almost 48 hours straight is not amenable to writing (I don’t have a laptop) nor is light sensitivity as the computer screen would only have made me want to gouge my eyes out.
Excuses, excuses. While legitimate, I still feel a bit like I let, not just myself, but all of you down. Here I was, all ready to tell you “I did it!” and have a celebration, but I failed. I have learned an important couple of lessons from all of this though.
1) Make sure to schedule in time for sickness/unexpected events in your deadline, whether for a publisher or for yourself.
2) Go to the doctor and get these migraines in hand, because -seriously- it’s getting ridiculous the number of them I’m getting lately.
Anyways, I’m going to push my deadline back another week (Sunday, July 22) to give myself time to get the words written and still have a cushion for the unexpected. I will also schedule an appointment with my regular doctor. I’m going to drop my word count goal to 2000 words a day as well… Losing a lot of sleep the last couple of weeks to reach my goal of 3K a day may well have contributed to the migraine. While the new goal could have me finished by Wednesday, I am not going to forget my first lesson so easily.
And stand by for a celebration for when I do finish The Gifted. I think a giveaway will be in order, but I’m not gonna tell what I’m giving away just yet=) I’ll let you know next Monday when the celebration begins!
Have you ever had to push back a deadline due to unexpected events? How did it make you feel?

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in Life, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Don’t I feel like a stinker.

  1. Bluestocking says:

    Migraines are the absolute worst. In my experience it's easier to revise than draft new content when suffering from a huge headache. But don't get too down on yourself for not hitting your quota. Just take care of yourself!

  2. Bluestocking says:

    Migraines are the absolute worst. In my experience it's easier to revise than draft new content when suffering from a huge headache. But don't get too down on yourself for not hitting your quota. Just take care of yourself!

  3. You've done really well considering the unexpected headaches. I'll be cheering you on.

  4. You've done really well considering the unexpected headaches. I'll be cheering you on.

  5. It happens. I think as long as it doesn't become a habit, it's totally understandable.I'm a new follower from YALitChat. I hope you'll check out my blog and consider following me back. http://kellyhashway.blogspot.com

  6. It happens. I think as long as it doesn't become a habit, it's totally understandable.I'm a new follower from YALitChat. I hope you'll check out my blog and consider following me back. http://kellyhashway.blogspot.com

  7. Professional athletes are always told playing with an injury can cause permanent damage. Writer's use our brains the same way and have to take care of them. Good luck with your new goal.

  8. Professional athletes are always told playing with an injury can cause permanent damage. Writer's use our brains the same way and have to take care of them. Good luck with your new goal.

  9. I've had to push back sending my book to my beta readers 3 times. Reason being is my health, which has made my career take a backseat. I'm pretty sure they think they're never going to get it, but I promised them at least a piece of it by tomorrow morning.

  10. I've had to push back sending my book to my beta readers 3 times. Reason being is my health, which has made my career take a backseat. I'm pretty sure they think they're never going to get it, but I promised them at least a piece of it by tomorrow morning.

  11. Steph says:

    IN December I was working on my revision, it was going super well, then my boyfriend got sick, and the sickness effect his heart and had a small heart attack ( we were at the hospital by then so he was monitored.) I just drop everything and waited until He was better, 3-5 month after.I'm still not working on the revision like I should but I'm working on a project for my blog.Steph

  12. Steph says:

    IN December I was working on my revision, it was going super well, then my boyfriend got sick, and the sickness effect his heart and had a small heart attack ( we were at the hospital by then so he was monitored.) I just drop everything and waited until He was better, 3-5 month after.I'm still not working on the revision like I should but I'm working on a project for my blog.Steph

  13. Don't beat yourself up. I'm in the same boat. I have until end of the month to finish my 100K wip. Everything's been going great until today. I was writing 4000-4500 words a day until today. Words written 0. I'm down with the flu…didn't factor that. Will be back tomorrow or the day after.I'm new on YALITCHAT, but I tend to visit most bloggers who post their blogs, so follow me back if you like.

  14. Don't beat yourself up. I'm in the same boat. I have until end of the month to finish my 100K wip. Everything's been going great until today. I was writing 4000-4500 words a day until today. Words written 0. I'm down with the flu…didn't factor that. Will be back tomorrow or the day after.I'm new on YALITCHAT, but I tend to visit most bloggers who post their blogs, so follow me back if you like.

  15. Don't get angry at yourself for those things. They can't be helped. Goodness knows you were brave to look at a computer screen with your head in that much pain! I hope you're feeling better and this week is better for you.I've been having to change deadlines for myself all this year. It's rotten. I haven't written a thing in the past few weeks because of the lack of air-conditioning. If I'm really lucky, we'll have it by the end of the week. Three weeks of producing nothing. Not good at all.

  16. Don't get angry at yourself for those things. They can't be helped. Goodness knows you were brave to look at a computer screen with your head in that much pain! I hope you're feeling better and this week is better for you.I've been having to change deadlines for myself all this year. It's rotten. I haven't written a thing in the past few weeks because of the lack of air-conditioning. If I'm really lucky, we'll have it by the end of the week. Three weeks of producing nothing. Not good at all.

  17. Deana says:

    I know that feels good! You go girl:)

  18. Deana says:

    I know that feels good! You go girl:)

  19. Nickie says:

    You got to take care of yourself first, right? I think it's sound advice to build in some slack time to any project's estimation (you should see me plan for home renovations!)

  20. Nickie says:

    You got to take care of yourself first, right? I think it's sound advice to build in some slack time to any project's estimation (you should see me plan for home renovations!)

  21. Lexa Cain says:

    I think you're being way too hard on yourself. Writing isn't a sprint — it's a marathon. If deadlines get pushed back, so what? At the end it's quality that counts and that takes time.Stress can bring on migraines, so slow down and give yourself permission to take some time for YOU. 🙂

  22. Lexa Cain says:

    I think you're being way too hard on yourself. Writing isn't a sprint — it's a marathon. If deadlines get pushed back, so what? At the end it's quality that counts and that takes time.Stress can bring on migraines, so slow down and give yourself permission to take some time for YOU. 🙂

Comments are closed.