Fireworks and IWSG

Happy Independence Day to all of my fellow Americans! Let’s celebrate this wonderful holiday with some fireworks!!

And for those of you reading this who aren’t here in the US of A, doesn’t mean you can’t celebrate something too… So, MORE FIREWORKS!!


We’ve got some really dry conditions around here today, so virtual fireworks are all I can do. I can’t even do sparklers for fear of starting the fire that will destroy my town… Because it probably would be MY sparkler to do it. I suppose we could do a few of those Snakes for the kidlets and maybe some of those little snapper things that you throw on the ground and go *POP*, but their interest in that would last 2 seconds before they decided to worry more about the sidewalk chalk. And then slaying dragons. And then climbing trees.

Anyway.

Today is the day I post for the Insecure Writer’s Support Group (IWSG), as is every first Wednesday of the month. The IWSG was created by Alex J. Cavanaugh and is about supporting your fellow writers and getting any insecurities about your writing out there so others can support you too.

This month my insecurities lie in finishing The Gifted and getting the crits on my other WIP. It seems strange that I finished my NaNo novel before I finished The Gifted. I started on it over a year ago, and still I’m two weeks (at least) away from finishing the first draft. So much has kept me away from it, and all of it complete and utter BS. I had this to do or I had that to do. Yeah, right.
The truth of the matter is, I just didn’t do it. I didn’t give myself permission to sit down and finish the thing because I’ve been too freaking scared. Scared of what would happen once it’s done. Scared of what the results would be when its done (as in, it would suck big time and I’d realize I was an idiot for trying in the first place). Scared of the major edits that would have to be done to whip the thing into shape and make it at least a passable example of writing.
I’m not quite sure what made it easier for me to get the NaNo novel finished before The Gifted. Sure, NaNoWriMo helped me get 50,000 words of it written in just a month, but even after that, there were times when I would look at it and know the edits on it were going to be worse than The Gifted. And yet, it’s my NaNo book that is going through crits right now.
The closer I get to finishing The Gifted, the more my hands shake. The more my heart rate speeds up and leaves me gasping for air, on the verge of hyperventilating. I guess, it’s because The Gifted is the book that started this whole adventure. It’s because once this first book is done -this book that made me realize I AM a writer- once it’s finished, it’s finished. The beginning will have been left behind. It’s a scary prospect… So, I guess it’s a good idea I planned it as the first in a four book series… Because then I can still look back and see where I started.

Where are you on your writing journey? Any insecurities? Tell me in the comments and I’ll cheer you on!

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in IWSG. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Fireworks and IWSG

  1. Leslie says:

    Hey! I found you through the IWSG. I know just how you feel – about being afraid to work on or finish something because "What if it sucks?" – I'm trying to tell myself that that is what the editing process if for. That so long as I get the story out I can tweak it afterwards. Good luck!!!

  2. Leslie says:

    Hey! I found you through the IWSG. I know just how you feel – about being afraid to work on or finish something because "What if it sucks?" – I'm trying to tell myself that that is what the editing process if for. That so long as I get the story out I can tweak it afterwards. Good luck!!!

  3. Melissa says:

    I'm to ticked off to be insecure right now. The kids are out of school and not letting me get any writing done. Ugh! Once they're away all day and the house is quiet, those little voices will creep their way back into my mind, though. It's just a matter of time. Great post! Good luck with your WIPs. :)IWSG #288

  4. Melissa says:

    I'm to ticked off to be insecure right now. The kids are out of school and not letting me get any writing done. Ugh! Once they're away all day and the house is quiet, those little voices will creep their way back into my mind, though. It's just a matter of time. Great post! Good luck with your WIPs. :)IWSG #288

  5. J.W. Alden says:

    Fear of failure is one of the most pervasive forces out there for writers. But you're stronger and better for having plowed through it to the end. Keep working at it–the finish line is in sight! Good luck.J.W. Alden

  6. J.W. Alden says:

    Fear of failure is one of the most pervasive forces out there for writers. But you're stronger and better for having plowed through it to the end. Keep working at it–the finish line is in sight! Good luck.J.W. Alden

  7. We could only have virtual fireworks too. But I heard some people lighting them off. Lucky there weren't any fires!I sympathize with you. The fear pounces on me often. Just remember: You are a writer. You're so close to being doing. So few actually get to that point. You're doing fabulously!

  8. We could only have virtual fireworks too. But I heard some people lighting them off. Lucky there weren't any fires!I sympathize with you. The fear pounces on me often. Just remember: You are a writer. You're so close to being doing. So few actually get to that point. You're doing fabulously!

  9. Kendra503 says:

    We decided to let ONE firework off, even though we're dry here too. Turns out that ONE firework tipped over and started firing things EVERYWHERE. We were so lucky nothing caught fire. I relate to the feeling of finishing your first true WIP. It wasn't too long ago I finished the first draft of my first WIP, really. But I was trembling, breathing really fast, just completely out of it. But once you write those two magical words, 'THE END', it will be a great feeling. (: I promise that! Congrats on getting 50k in one month! (:Nice to meet you through IWSG. 😀 I hope it doesn't seem too sudden that I nominated you for an award on my blog. (: > http://www.flamecycle.blogspot.com/2012/07/my-first-award.html

  10. Kendra503 says:

    We decided to let ONE firework off, even though we're dry here too. Turns out that ONE firework tipped over and started firing things EVERYWHERE. We were so lucky nothing caught fire. I relate to the feeling of finishing your first true WIP. It wasn't too long ago I finished the first draft of my first WIP, really. But I was trembling, breathing really fast, just completely out of it. But once you write those two magical words, 'THE END', it will be a great feeling. (: I promise that! Congrats on getting 50k in one month! (:Nice to meet you through IWSG. 😀 I hope it doesn't seem too sudden that I nominated you for an award on my blog. (: > http://www.flamecycle.blogspot.com/2012/07/my-first-award.html

  11. Lexa Cain says:

    Your post really spoke to me. I never really thought about it, but I now realize I'm taking so long finishing my most recent WIP because I'm scared. CPs tell me this is the one that will get me an agent, but what if it doesn't? It's my 3rd novel and just about the best I can do. If I don't get an agent, should I just give up? Scary, and why I keep revising it rather than sending it out…

  12. Lexa Cain says:

    Your post really spoke to me. I never really thought about it, but I now realize I'm taking so long finishing my most recent WIP because I'm scared. CPs tell me this is the one that will get me an agent, but what if it doesn't? It's my 3rd novel and just about the best I can do. If I don't get an agent, should I just give up? Scary, and why I keep revising it rather than sending it out…

  13. Mel Chesley says:

    Oh but what a huge success it will be to have put that first book that got you into writing under your belt! You can do it! And I'm the same… I wonder just how much it will suck, will it need more work than I can deal with once finished? Oh, the insecurities…I'm a new follower through IWSG! Nice to meet you!

  14. Mel Chesley says:

    Oh but what a huge success it will be to have put that first book that got you into writing under your belt! You can do it! And I'm the same… I wonder just how much it will suck, will it need more work than I can deal with once finished? Oh, the insecurities…I'm a new follower through IWSG! Nice to meet you!

Comments are closed.