Day 13 & 14: Publish and Brand

Day thirteen in the 15 Habits of Great Writers Challenge is about publishing.
Today, we’re going to publish something. Anything, really. Whatever you do, don’t play it safe. Go for broke. Stop hiding and start writing for real:

  • The manuscript in your dresser drawer? Send it off.
  • That article you’ve been thinking about writing for an A-list blog? Submit it. Let go of control; you’re ready.
  • That eBook you’ve been stalling to finish? It’s good enough. Put it out there.
Hmmm. I don’t have an ebook ready to publish. The manuscript I’m working on is still getting critiqued and I don’t have an article I’ve been thinking about writing for an A-list blog.
But did you know I have a flash piece published? It was part of Rachel Harrie’s Platform-Building Campaign, and the proceeds go to a great cause (research to fight cancer in kids).
I suppose I could finish up that short story I’ve been writing and submit it to a contest. Maybe try submitting a couple of my flash pieces. I’ll let you know how things go=)
Day fourteen is about brand.
Brand yourself. There are three elements of every brand that you need to pay attention to — spend some time today tightening up each of these:
  • Name. This is what you call yourself (e.g. Copyblogger or Anne Lamott). It may be your given name or a pseudonym or something else, but you need to be consistent. Make sure your website, business cards, and social media properties all say the same thing.
  • Image. This can be a logo or a headshot. It’s whatever you want to use to make people recognize you and your work. If it’s a photo of you, make sure people would recognize you in real life if they’re seeing it on the Internet. Also, make sure it’s on your blog, Twitter profile, etc. Don’t use different images; make them all the same. Michael Hyatt does a great job with this.
  • Voice. This is how you sound. It’s your style and personal flair as a communicator. If you aren’t confident in your unique writing voice, go through these 10 steps to find it.
A lot of people are confused by brand. I’ve heard so many people rally against branding because they don’t understand it. “I am not a brand!!” they shout to the blogging/writing world. Great. Neither am I. But I do HAVE a brand. See the distinction? My name and image are already constant throughout the web-o’sphere, and my voice is… Well. It’s my voice.
What have you had something published? Link it up and we’ll all go take a look=)
How about brand? Do you know what yours is? Do you believe in author/writer brand?

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in #15Habits. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day 13 & 14: Publish and Brand

  1. This challenge has both frustrated me and motivated me. It frustrates me in that I am nowhere near where I want to be but it has motivated me to get there. Working on finding a "Brand" now. I do think it's important

  2. This challenge has both frustrated me and motivated me. It frustrates me in that I am nowhere near where I want to be but it has motivated me to get there. Working on finding a "Brand" now. I do think it's important

  3. Tonja says:

    Uh, I think you published this post. I don't think it's a good idea to publish anything that isn't ready. It takes time and a lot of work.

  4. Tonja says:

    Uh, I think you published this post. I don't think it's a good idea to publish anything that isn't ready. It takes time and a lot of work.

Comments are closed.