Day 3: Choose Yourself

It’s day 3 in Jeff Goins 15 Habits challenge. Yesterday, he challenged us to get up two hours early as a start to believing we are writers. I did. I set my alarm, got up when it went off, and went and sat down at my computer to write… Then I fell asleep at the desk. Oops! That’s okay though. I made the effort, and I can try again tomorrow. I’ve never been a morning person, but coffee helped me get used to getting up early when I had to take Precious to school. I’ve since readjusted to waking when my kids wake me. One more adjustment to wake up two hours before that, and I’m all set. It may take a couple of days to get used to getting up early, but I will be able to do it.


Today is about choosing yourself. It’s about taking those insecurities you’ve lived with for a while (outside of writing) and turning them on their heads:


Here’s what I want you to do: Write down in some place secret, “I am a ____.” Do it and do it now. We’ll come to it later. For now, pull it out every day and read it. Yes, this is hokey, and yes, I want you to do it, anyway.

Then, I want you to start something you’re scared of. Maybe it’s a book, an article for a magazine, or something else. All I want you to do is begin. Tomorrow, we’ll talk about where to go from here.

— Jeff Goins, A Great Writer Takes Initiative



Today is also about starting. Even if you’ve already started, start again. Start something new and fresh and that scares you a little (or a lot).

And that’s what I’m going to do. I’m going to start a story that I’ve been wanting to write for a while now. I might even go as far as to say it’s the book of my heart. The idea of writing it terrifies me because it deals with a lot of fears I have as a mother. Tears will be shed. I expect times where I will want to refuse to write because of what’s happening in the story, but I’m going to push through those. Because I am a writer. And I choose me. And it’s time to start again.

PS- If you’ve come looking for the Thirsty Thursday Blog Round-Up, it’s moved to it’s own blog! Check it out here!

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in #15Habits. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Day 3: Choose Yourself

  1. I think I would have fell asleep at the computer too. I'm about to take a nap now! It's great you made the effort, though, and this is an interesting exercise for today. Good luck!

  2. I think I would have fell asleep at the computer too. I'm about to take a nap now! It's great you made the effort, though, and this is an interesting exercise for today. Good luck!

  3. I didn't attempt to get up early because I know it would have been ugly but I did start a book I had been wanting to write also and I have committed to 2 hours of writing at some point every day. So far, so good!

  4. I didn't attempt to get up early because I know it would have been ugly but I did start a book I had been wanting to write also and I have committed to 2 hours of writing at some point every day. So far, so good!

  5. I love my early, early morning writing time, but yes, sometimes it's hard to get the brain awake. ^_^

  6. I love my early, early morning writing time, but yes, sometimes it's hard to get the brain awake. ^_^

Comments are closed.