Day 2: Believe & IWSG

Not only is today the second day in the 15 Habits of Good Writers challenge but also the first Wednesday of the month, which means the Insecure Writer’s Support Group post. It’s actually quite serendipitous that these two things should fall on the same day because day two of the challenge is about belief.



As I mentioned in my post yesterday, it’s not enough to say “I am a writer.” You have to believe it too. Sometimes, that’s as easy as repeating it to yourself over and over. Kind of a self-fulfilling prophecy. There are times, however when belief is more difficult. Faith in yourself and in your abilities seems so far out of reach, you wonder when you will finally give up this pipe dream and just get back to the mundane reality that surrounds you.



But that’s the thing about faith, isn’t it. It’s blind belief in something. If you can find it within yourself to believe, absolutely, that you are a writer – not just say you are one – then your reality won’t be so mundane. Your reality will be every single fantasy you write down. Your characters are your best friends. Their enemies are your enemies and you fight along side them in one scene, and then take a break to cook supper or watch your favorite sports team.


Belief in what you do – in who you are! – is freeing. So don’t just declare it… Believe it!


As part of the challenge – for me to believe I am a writer – I have to get up 2 hours early tomorrow to write… EEP! Looks like I’ll be going to bed early tonight! Even if you didn’t join in the challenge, I’d love for you to join in the early rise for writing and believing!


Now, I’m going to take a cue from Jeff Goins and challenge you. I want you to think about why it is you’re a writer, and I want you to tell me about it in the comments=)


      

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in #15Habits, IWSG. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Day 2: Believe & IWSG

  1. Cherie Reich says:

    That's so true about believing in yourself. 🙂

  2. Cherie Reich says:

    That's so true about believing in yourself. 🙂

  3. Awesome post! Saying and believing are two different things. Get a good night's sleep!

  4. Awesome post! Saying and believing are two different things. Get a good night's sleep!

  5. Jan Arzooman says:

    That is a big part of it. Believing it, and then DOING it. If you do it, you'll more readily believe it. If you don't believe it, you might not want to do it … it CAN be a vicious cycle. Some days I look at my pieces and say, "What WAS I thinking?" But I keep at it… Thanks for the link to the "15 Habits of Great Writers."

  6. Jan Arzooman says:

    That is a big part of it. Believing it, and then DOING it. If you do it, you'll more readily believe it. If you don't believe it, you might not want to do it … it CAN be a vicious cycle. Some days I look at my pieces and say, "What WAS I thinking?" But I keep at it… Thanks for the link to the "15 Habits of Great Writers."

  7. Very well said! I am taking the challenge too but I don't think I will be getting up 2 hrs early 😦 I am already only allowing myself about 6 hrs of sleep a night and I don't think I can function with any less. However I am going to try to get 2 hrs of writing in somehow.As for why I AM a writer, I have a lot to say!

  8. Very well said! I am taking the challenge too but I don't think I will be getting up 2 hrs early 😦 I am already only allowing myself about 6 hrs of sleep a night and I don't think I can function with any less. However I am going to try to get 2 hrs of writing in somehow.As for why I AM a writer, I have a lot to say!

  9. Eve says:

    Hey there! I got your name from the IWSG..what you say is so true! If you really believe you are a writer you will begin to behave as one..I don't think I'll get up two hours earlier though, as I already get up around 6! Great to 'meet' you!

  10. Eve says:

    Hey there! I got your name from the IWSG..what you say is so true! If you really believe you are a writer you will begin to behave as one..I don't think I'll get up two hours earlier though, as I already get up around 6! Great to 'meet' you!

  11. Kathleen says:

    @Heather Murphy LOL! That's a helluva reason to be a writer=)

  12. Kathleen says:

    @Heather Murphy LOL! That's a helluva reason to be a writer=)

  13. Karen Walker says:

    Hi – this is so true – I hadn't really thought about that before – saying and believing are two different things. Thank you.Karen

  14. Karen Walker says:

    Hi – this is so true – I hadn't really thought about that before – saying and believing are two different things. Thank you.Karen

Comments are closed.