Day 1: The Declaration

Did you know?

I Am A Writer!

That’s right.

As part of Jeff Goins’ 15 Habits to Better Writing Challege, today is the day I’m supposed to declare myself a writer. It’s supposed to be to an institution or a person I fear telling this to. But there’s a problem with that.


I’ve already told everyone I know (with the exception of the friend in this post, a moment of weakness). All my family knows. They are anxiously awaiting my finished edits so they can read by book. I have a Facebook page where I update everyone on my writing progress and things in the writing world that interest me (though I need to update it more often). I’m on Twitter as a writer, often using #amwriting and #amediting as well as joining in the weekly #yalitchat.

I’d say the only thing I haven’t done is rent the billboard sign in the middle of town announcing I’m a writer. But that’s only because it’s out of my price range…

Anyway, I think the big thing with saying this is to make ourselves accountable. Not just to other people, but to ourselves. We write. It’s what we do. But being a writer and feeling like a writer are two different things. How do we accept ourselves as writers? It’s a self-fulfilling prophecy; say it over and over until you don’t feel like an idiot, but know the truth of it.

So without further ado:


I Am A Writer!
Rinse. Repeat.

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in #15Habits. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Day 1: The Declaration

  1. That's a great declaration!

  2. That's a great declaration!

  3. I'm a writer too! Now, if I can only FEEL like a writer, I will be doing good. I'm still a work in progress 🙂

  4. I'm a writer too! Now, if I can only FEEL like a writer, I will be doing good. I'm still a work in progress 🙂

  5. You crack me up. ^_^ I'm really looking forward to reading these progressive blog posts. So happy you're participating.

  6. You crack me up. ^_^ I'm really looking forward to reading these progressive blog posts. So happy you're participating.

  7. Woo-hoo! You are a writer. I am a writer. And we need to be darn proud of it. 🙂

  8. Woo-hoo! You are a writer. I am a writer. And we need to be darn proud of it. 🙂

  9. Kathleen says:

    @Miranda Hardy Thanks=)@Heather Murphy YOU ARE A WRITER!!!!@Angelina C. Hansen Lol, Thanks=)@Christine Rains A-MEN!

  10. Kathleen says:

    @Miranda Hardy Thanks=)@Heather Murphy YOU ARE A WRITER!!!!@Angelina C. Hansen Lol, Thanks=)@Christine Rains A-MEN!

  11. Looking forward to seeing the challenge as it develops! You *are* a writer!

  12. Looking forward to seeing the challenge as it develops! You *are* a writer!

Comments are closed.