The Chocopocalypse

I’ve told you about my daughter’s attempt to take over the world with glitter. Turns out she’s not the only child of mine that has world domination on the mind. Precious wanted to make the world sparkle-y and shiny. Little Man is another story.

Unlike last time, I was wide awake and there was an hour and a half before Hubs and I went to finish up birthday shopping for Precious. I knew the fridge had been opened. It’s right next to the computer. I thought the kids were getting drinks, but Little Man had other plans.

I don’t know how much time had passed before Precious comes up to me, eyes wide and a tremulous expression on her face. “He made a mess.” That was all she said. The dark brown on her shirt and the sickly sweet smell of chocolate mixed to cause immediate head snappage in the direction of Little Man’s room. I couldn’t see his room, but I could see the hallway… And there was chocolate syrup ALL. OVER. THE. WALLS.

I didn’t want to get up and face what I knew I would see. My feet were concrete bricks, my muscles as taut as steel cables. I think my heart stopped beating.
I’ve had to do clean-ups before. Glitter is easy. You vacuum up what you can and leave the rest for later. Milk, water, and juice spills are no problem. Grab a towel and a mop and you’re good to go. Even crumbled crackers that were supposed to have been eaten can be easily swept up and thrown in the bin.

Sticky chocolate syrup is another matter all together.

I should have taken a picture. I shouldn’t have had to be the only witness to the destruction my son had caused. When I finally forced my muscles and feet to work, I stood in Little Man’s room and had a stroke.
It. Was. EVERYWHERE.
There wasn’t a surface in his room that was free of the brown stuff. Toys were covered, his bed was a pool, and I couldn’t believe he had been able to get it on the ceiling! The floor was one sticky mess that required the soles of your shoes to be cleaned any time you exited.
I started with the rugs. Thank God they were cheap; I threw them out. Then I gathered all the toys that had been covered and dropped them in the tub for a good soak (I wished it was me in there). I removed the bed sheets and put them in the wash. I grabbed every cleaner we had and scrubbed the walls, dresser, and desk.
When it came time to mop, I knew it would be a multiple step process. I filled the bucket, added the cleaner, and started in the back corner. I was a fourth of the way through his room when I had to empty the murky water and refill it. I did that several times before the hallway and Little Man’s room had been mopped completely.
I let the floor dry as I washed the toys in the tub. Who knew Dial would become a Mom’s best friend? It cleans everything AND it gets rid of fleas. Pretty sure the stuff is the secret to world peace.
Hubs came home while I cleaned the toys in the tub. I had called him at work to warn him of what he might see when he got home. There were still a few small spots that I had missed in my brown-outing so he helped clean those up.
By the time we got out of the house to do our shopping for Precious, two hours had passed since the Chocopocalypse. There are still some casualties that need to be cleaned up. A pair of bunny ears and a very large teddy bear. I’m even still finding chocolate syrup on his dresser still.



From now on, I’m buying the powder chocolate.

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in children, Little Man, Precious. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Chocopocalypse

  1. A Chocopocalypse sounds like something I'd love to be involved in! Shame you couldn't just get him to lick the mess clean!

  2. A Chocopocalypse sounds like something I'd love to be involved in! Shame you couldn't just get him to lick the mess clean!

  3. D.G. Hudson says:

    New follower here, still cruising through the A to Z list. Nice to meet you. Hop over to my blog for a look, when you can.I liked reading about the chocolate disaster, as we had a few mishaps but I don't remember one that bad. You're very efficient at cleaning up, I can tell. Mothering does leave us with nifty skills.A very funny piece, hubby enjoyed it too.

  4. D.G. Hudson says:

    New follower here, still cruising through the A to Z list. Nice to meet you. Hop over to my blog for a look, when you can.I liked reading about the chocolate disaster, as we had a few mishaps but I don't remember one that bad. You're very efficient at cleaning up, I can tell. Mothering does leave us with nifty skills.A very funny piece, hubby enjoyed it too.

  5. So, was he trying to recreate the chocolate river scene from Charlie and the Chocolate factory? I love how kids can do stuff that really makes you wonder why.Elizabeth Twist: Writer, Plague Enthusiast

  6. So, was he trying to recreate the chocolate river scene from Charlie and the Chocolate factory? I love how kids can do stuff that really makes you wonder why.Elizabeth Twist: Writer, Plague Enthusiast

  7. Morgan says:

    Oh my gosh! You poor thing! Oh the joys of motherhood… (I do love a funny story… is it funny yet? LOL)

  8. Morgan says:

    Oh my gosh! You poor thing! Oh the joys of motherhood… (I do love a funny story… is it funny yet? LOL)

  9. Making my rounds after the A to Z Challenge to say hello! I liked Elizabeth Twist's comment. : )SusannePUTTING WORDS DOWN ON PAPER

  10. Making my rounds after the A to Z Challenge to say hello! I liked Elizabeth Twist's comment. : )SusannePUTTING WORDS DOWN ON PAPER

Comments are closed.