You Are A Writer by Jeff Goins

“When I started writing everyday, I realized a painful truth: I can’t react and create at the same time. Neither can you.Our brains don’t work well when we try doing too many things. Though we may have eclectic interests, we can only do one thing at a time and do it well.”

– Page 29




This resonated with me. When I received this book for review it was with the understanding of having the review up by a certain date. I thought I could do it, no problem. There was a problem though: I already had way too much on my plate. I had the A to Z Challenge, participation in a book blog tour, family commitments, social media, and my writing. Somewhere in all of that the review of Jeff Goins’ book got lost.

“Multitasking is a myth. You can either create or react. But you can’t do both. Choose wisely.”

– Page 30
That’s not the only thing he talks about though. His book covers some of the most important things for writers to consider, including brand, platform, and freelance work. He uses his experiences throughout his writing career to teach us what we might not know about writing and reaching an audience.

I’ve been reading his blog for a while now and I subscribe to his newsletter. Both are great resources, but this book is the culmination of all of that. It is worth studying over and over again so we can remember why we got into writing in the first place (Passion) without losing sight of what writing really is (Work).



If you are interested in learning more about You Are A Writer: So Start Acting Like It or in purchasing the book, go to youareawriter.com. If you want to know more about the author, Jeff Goins, you can find him at his blog, on Facebook, and on Twitter.

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in review, You Are A Writer. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to You Are A Writer by Jeff Goins

  1. sounds like very sage words of advice! Thanks for introducing us to Jeff and his work!

  2. sounds like very sage words of advice! Thanks for introducing us to Jeff and his work!

Comments are closed.