IWSG: Where Are You?

There are certain days when writing is all but impossible. Days when the muse has vacated your mind and left you wondering why staring at a blank page is so daunting. There are weeks when writing comes easy, the muse tickling your creativity in ways you never knew existed and a couple thousand words a day earns a shrug and a nod.


There are also those days when your muse is screaming at you to get words done, but you can barely hear it over the din of busy, busy, busy. You have so much going on, you can’t remember that gravity works until you come crashing down.

And there are the days when actual writing has been put on hold. Your first draft is complete, the edits on another book are done, and all you have to do is brainstorm. The muse loves this time. She speaks quickly, telling you story after story and angle after angle. You have choices.

Where are you in your writing process? Is your muse speaking to you, screaming at you, or hiding?

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in IWSG. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to IWSG: Where Are You?

  1. Bob Milne says:

    My muse seems to scream at me at the most inopportune moments. I can't count the number of times I've woken up in the middle of the night to scrawl some indecipherable message on my handy notebad, or actually looked forward to a red light while driving so I could dictate a quick note or scene into my Blackberry.

  2. Bob Milne says:

    My muse seems to scream at me at the most inopportune moments. I can't count the number of times I've woken up in the middle of the night to scrawl some indecipherable message on my handy notebad, or actually looked forward to a red light while driving so I could dictate a quick note or scene into my Blackberry.

  3. My muse is hiding. I know she's up to something, but not sure what. In the meantime, I'm waiting, eager to find out. ^_^

  4. My muse is hiding. I know she's up to something, but not sure what. In the meantime, I'm waiting, eager to find out. ^_^

  5. Mama J says:

    My muse is dancing in front of me, giving me lots of ideas as I begin the second draft of my book. I suspect my muse will have disappeared without trace within a day or two.

  6. Mama J says:

    My muse is dancing in front of me, giving me lots of ideas as I begin the second draft of my book. I suspect my muse will have disappeared without trace within a day or two.

  7. nutschell says:

    My muse is itching to get back to writing (after days of not touching my manuscript). 🙂 I thought I'd drop by to let you know that I'm giving you an award. You'll find it on my blog:)Nutschellwww.thewritingnut.com

  8. nutschell says:

    My muse is itching to get back to writing (after days of not touching my manuscript). 🙂 I thought I'd drop by to let you know that I'm giving you an award. You'll find it on my blog:)Nutschellwww.thewritingnut.com

  9. Mine's hiding at the moment. She comes out to play only when other people are writing with me – I think my muse likes to play with other muses, but doesn't work so well by herself!

  10. Mine's hiding at the moment. She comes out to play only when other people are writing with me – I think my muse likes to play with other muses, but doesn't work so well by herself!

  11. Screaming thankfully!M.C.V. Egan

  12. Screaming thankfully!M.C.V. Egan

  13. My muse is hiding right now. Well, she put some clues around, but she just wants to sit back and eat ice cream when I really need to get a short story written for my writer's group.

  14. My muse is hiding right now. Well, she put some clues around, but she just wants to sit back and eat ice cream when I really need to get a short story written for my writer's group.

  15. My muse is slowly peeping out after galavanting to who-knows-where, and I am planning to make the most whilst she's visiting 🙂

  16. My muse is slowly peeping out after galavanting to who-knows-where, and I am planning to make the most whilst she's visiting 🙂

  17. Rob and Lisa says:

    My muse is hanging out while I try to carve out some time to listen to her.

  18. Rob and Lisa says:

    My muse is hanging out while I try to carve out some time to listen to her.

Comments are closed.