V is for Variety

Category: Reading



I love reading YA. It’s what I write too. But there’s a certain freedom in stepping away from the norm and taking in a variety of other genres. I read adult as well. Science fiction, Fantasy, contemporary, and even “chick lit” on occasion. I’ve read biographies and histories. I’ve read books on psychology, astronomy, and astrology.

All of it has enriched my life in some way. I’ve learned new things and gone on adventures through distant galaxies and foreign lands. I’ve experienced pain, sorrow, joy, and relief. I’ve experienced technology yet to be invented. I’ve traveled back in time to places all but forgotten. I’ve lived as Joan of Arc and even as Napoleon.

I won’t ever tire of taking a nice trip through the books I read. After all, variety is the spice of life=)

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in a to z challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to V is for Variety

  1. Totally agree. I think we all have our genres that we come back to time and time again (more often than not it's the one we write ourselves), but I love reading widely.I love getting a book lent/recommended to me that isn't 'my sort of thing', but loving it anyway. Think of the wealth of literature we'd miss out on if we just stuck to one thing!

  2. Sue H says:

    My preferred genre (reading and writing) is mystery/suspense/thriller – largely born out by the titles sitting on the many bookshelves around the house!But I like historical stuff, too and will try most things – although extreme fantasy and horror are not top of my list!After a series of thrillers, my latest read is actually a bit of chic-lit 'Needles and Pearls' by Gil McNeil. It's pleasant enough for a late night chapter or two before I turn out the light and the knitting references piqued my interest enough to progress onto this, the second book, by this author.Happy A-Z'ing!SueH I refuse to go quietly!Twitter – @Librarymaid

  3. I love reading YA too, and it's mostly what I read. But my mom also recommended The Forgotten Garden and I'm really into that story!

  4. I agree. I love reading different genres than what I write although I love a good mystery, too.

  5. I grew up never reading YA, now that's the main thing I read. But I agree with you, I still love to read other genres. It's definitely important for a writer to read within their genre, but I think it's just as important to read outside of it.

Comments are closed.