T is for Trashy Thumbs (and Elbows)

Category: Life





This is a cautionary tale about taking out the trash.


A few weeks ago I was cleaning the house. The trash was full so I decided to take it out since there was still more throughout the house that needed to be thrown away.

I open the lid to our trash barrel and put the bag in. When I let the lid fall it stuck up a bit so I thought it would be a good idea to push the bags down to get the lid to shut completely.

I should have left it alone.
As I push on the bags my thumb meets with resistance and is hyper-extended…backwards. I yanked my hand back and shook it out. The sharp pain I experienced subsided so I didn’t think anything of it.
Fast forward to the present and I’m cursing myself for not going to the doctor. Because the pain came back… much worse.


The biggest problem is cleaning the house. Do you know how much we use our thumbs throughout the day? A lot. You never really think about it until you do. And then it’s because there is something hampering your ability to use a thumb. Dishes are painful to wash, it’s even more painful to try to pick up Little Man, and holding a cup without fear of dropping it? Not possible. Writing is the only thing that isn’t affected by my injured thumb. I can use the other one on the space bar.


This was not the first incident I’ve had while taking out the trash. Several months ago I was taking the trash out on a particularly windy day. I opened the storm door on the back porch, but instead of bracing it I just let go and reached for the lid. When the wind gusted, I had already moved my arm into a position where when the door slammed on it it was my funny bone that took the force of the impact. I have cubital tunnel syndrome because of it. That’s kind of like carpel tunnel syndrome, only with elbows instead of wrists.


I make Hubs take out the trash now.

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in a to z challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to T is for Trashy Thumbs (and Elbows)

  1. Sean Vessey says:

    Well, he is supposesd to take out the trash while you change the oil in the car…:-)http:/Ladysknight.wordpress.com

  2. Steph says:

    my and my boyfriend divided the chores, I end up just cleaning around the appartment since I'm here more often when I'm not working…and he cooks, since, you know…he is a cook XD

Comments are closed.