S is for Schedules

Category: Writing, Reading, Life



I’ve talked about schedules before, even laid out my schedule going through an entire day of what I do. But there are always going to be times when the schedule I make has to be tweaked or changed. So what may have worked a few months ago no longer works today.

Schedules are useful, and can be an important part of every day life. Time is something a lot of people seem to want to beat. But schedules aren’t about beating time; They’re about managing it, working with it to use the time you do have to the fullest.

Everyone’s schedule is going to be different, but here are some points of a schedule that I think are important for everyone, including writers:


  1. Sleep – Everyone needs sleep. Some need more than others, so be sure you know how much you require to keep your mind sharp and your body healthy.
  2. Exercise/physical activity – This is one that I need to do for myself more. Running, yoga, even doing squats in your living room can help keep you healthy and invigorate your mind. As writers, we sit in front of a computer most of the time, trying to get our books and stories written. So much time seated and stationary makes for some wicked cellulite… Not that I’d know… Ahem.
  3. Relaxation – Different from sleep, this is important to recharge your mind and spirit. Too much work can exhaust a person to the point of mental breakdown. So do something that relaxes you, even if that is doing nothing at all! Try going to the spa, staring out a window, sitting in a hot tub, and even laying on a blanket in a field staring at the clouds in the sky… Provided it’s appropriate weather, that is.
  4. Social interaction – If you’re an introvert like me, this can seem counter-productive, but it isn’t. Even introverts need a bit of it now and then. Hang out with friends and family OUTSIDE OF YOUR HOUSE!! And I don’t mean on the doorstep to your house. I mean, get out of your house with your significant other and see a movie and eat at a nice restaurant (in other words, go on a date). Have a girls/boys night out. Join a book club or a writer’s group! Extra points if you do both=)



Is there anything you think I might have missed? 


*****


Now for the winner of NEVERWHERE by Neil Gaiman:


Stephanie A.


Congratulations! I will get in touch with you soon so we can get you your book=)

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in a to z challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to S is for Schedules

  1. Steph says:

    hahaha I was reading the post scrolling down and was like HEy thats just like my name! ho wait… HEYYYYYYY! thank youU!

  2. Steph says:

    @StephAlso I schedule time for appointments, I even once did a appointment to talk to my muse to figure a part of my story that I didn't understand XD

  3. Nah, I'm not organized enough to have a consistent schedule, though I do have a general sense of what my routine is like for the week (i.e. Mondays are grocery-shopping days, Tuesday is laundry day, etc.). And I'm very flexible about my days, too. 🙂

  4. Julie Musil says:

    It's amazing how just a few hours or relaxation, or a quick workout can reinvigorate us. Sometimes it's tough to separate ourselves from the keyboard, but it's a must!! I think you made a perfect list 🙂

  5. Mike Manz says:

    I would add to number 1 that the vast majority of people need more sleep than they think they do. Also, it is seldom possible to sleep later in the morning so go to bed earlier in the evening instead.I own and run an ESL training school for a living, so my schedule is never the same two days in a row; it certainly isn't regular. I find I have to schedule on-the-fly in one and two hour sections. If I have a one hour block available I decide in that moment what the most important thing(s) are that I can get accomplished in that hour and I get them done. Anything less than an hour and it's usually Angry Birds.

Comments are closed.