O is for Oh so random

Category: Life



Sometimes, life catches up with you and leaves you exhausted. That’s where I’m at now. This past year has seen so many ups and downs and curve balls from every which way, it’s impossible to believe that a simple life is what I live.

I’m an introvert. Crowds and a constantly busy schedule wear me out fast. Even social media tires me out a bit. But I love knowing what others are doing. I enjoy hearing about successes and I commiserate with people on their failures offering hope as best I can (remember F is for Failure).

I’m an optimist for the most part. Just like everyone else I go through bouts of cynicism, but I look forward to the summer when there will be more time to sit back and relax with my kids and enjoy being young again through their eyes.

A couple new twists have come up recently. Nothing tragic, but things my family and I will have to adjust to. Change is a part of life. Without change, how stagnant and boring would life be? But being an introvert means I need more time to adjust. And that time I need to myself.

That’s one thing that I love about this challenge. I give myself permission to write and post at least a week in advance and take a few days off of blogging. I’m still doing social media, though not as much. I’m reading books that entertain and writing advice books. I’m watching more cartoons with my kids. I’m sitting down and relaxing, allowing my mind to wander. Then, I get back to it and write a few more blogs and schedule them. I do more writing on The Gifted. I research editing techniques for my untitled book. I gather links for Thirsty Thursday.

***

Precious will turn six this month. She’s so very excited=) She wants a Harry Potter Party. It will be interesting to see if I can decorate the cupcakes with recognizable broom sticks. For a gift, she told me she wants a robe. I’ve been looking for one, but don’t really know if the ones I’ve found are as soft and comfy as I would like. Any suggestions?

She lost her first tooth recently. She got five dollars and a letter from the Tooth Fairy. She was so excited about it, she pulled the tooth out from under the pillow to sleep with it and keep it safe for the Tooth Fairy. All it did was prove difficult for the acting Fairy to find (Hubs was insistent it wasn’t under the pillow where I watched her place it). Now, her tooth sits in an old jewelry box of mine above the washer and dryer where she won’t see it.

***

Lately, I’ve been obsessed with a cheese spread my sister makes. It’s a simple recipe, but I don’t know it. I’ll have to get it from her. She sent it home with me the other day when I went to pick up a few books to borrow (we share a love of reading and often exchange books we love and think the other will like). She usually sends food with me when I visit. Crackers, French bread, her cheese spread, candy, a can of soup, and a box of Mac N’ Cheese were all sent home with me this time. The cheese spread is gone and I will probably eat the soup for lunch today. Most of the crackers were eaten with the cheese spread, and the French bread will be a delicious addition to the Chicken Fettuccine Alfredo I make tonight.

That’s enough random for now. Don’t forget to sign up for a chance to win Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman



/*{literal}{/literal}*/
a Rafflecopter giveaway
<a href=”http://rafl.es/enable-js”>You need javascript enabled to see this giveaway</a>.

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in a to z challenge, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to O is for Oh so random

  1. A Harry Potter party sounds so cool. My daughter (7) is reading all of our Baby Blues comics collection along with Franny K. Stein and The Secrets of Droon. I guess Voldemort is too scary for her. Robes? Google search or buy your own cotton fleece to make one.

  2. I can relate as a fellow introvert. This year has been one of many twists and turns. I cherish the days when things can wind down some.I'm stopping by from the A to Z Challenge!Giggle, Laugh, Cry

  3. Good luck finding that robe; the party theme sounds like a lot of fun 🙂

  4. I here on the A to Z tour as well. As a fellow introvert, I have to pull back and regroup from time to time. My plan is to spend this weekend just reading for fun.Patricia

  5. I love your blog! Adorable theme and your writing is so down to earth and honest. I really enjoyed reading your blog post tonight (oops, it's tomorrow now). I get overwhelmed by crowds too.Best,Robyn

Comments are closed.