K is for Kindle Fire

Category: Writing, Reading





Everyone has heard of the Kindle by Amazon. It’s known as an eReader; a way to read book in a digital format without having to sit at the computer. 
There are several versions of the Kindle available: the original, the Kindle Keyboard, the Kindle Touch, and the Kindle Fire.

Go to Amazon to watch the Quick Tour…
This is just a picture.



Today I’m going to talk specifically about the Kindle Fire and its usefulness for writers.


To start off, one of the first pieces of advice you get as a writer is to read a lot. Read inside the genre you write and outside of it as well. Read the good stuff and read the bad stuff. Read everything.

I currently have well over 100 books on my Kindle Fire. Most come directly from Amazon, but I also have many in PDF format. There are best sellers from the Big Six as well as books from indie and self-published authors. (I should tell you that owning a Kindle doesn’t mean I don’t read print books. I do. A lot. In fact, it’s kind of an addiction.)

Open Office Pro

Reading isn’t the only thing you can do on a Kindle Fire though. Not only can you get your magazines through the Fire, you can play games (like Stupid Zombies), watch movies and TV shows (it’s on, Game of Thrones!), and surf the web (including checking out this here blog *wink wink**nudge nudge*). But one of the best things about the Fire is its usefulness for writers by way of apps.
There are several apps available that make working on your writing easy to do when on the go.





Dropbox

The most useful writing app I’ve found so far is Open Office Pro. When you first get a Fire, Open Office is already in the apps pre-installed. It’s a good tool for reading any documents you might have in cloud storage, but you are limited in what file type you can view. I recommend installing the upgrade to Open Office Pro because you can edit your documents more easily including any Excel spreadsheets or Power Point presentations. It costs about $15 (US) but is worth the expense.



Evernote

The great thing about Open Office Pro is you can directly link all of your cloud storage to it; including Google Docs, Dropbox, and Evernote just to name a few.
You can also download an app specifically for your cloud service if it’s offered in the app store. For Dropbox, you have to go to the website on your Kindle and download the app directly from there. 





And, if you’re skeptical about using a Kindle Fire as a tool for writing, use this post as a reference… I wrote it on mine=) 




I’m also over at The Dojo today. K is for Kicks (and Tricks)!

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in a to z challenge, Kindle Fire, Reading, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to K is for Kindle Fire

  1. Great post. I'm a writer and a pretty big reader. But I'm also an old school snob when it comes to eReaders. However, lately I've been wanting to read some books that are only eBooks. Frustrating! I think I might have to break down and get one. The Kindle Fire sounds pretty amazing. Thanks for your post. Nice to meet you on A-Z!

  2. Jolie du Pre says:

    I'm a full-time writer who is on the computer all day. At night, when I read, I don't want to look at the equivalent of a computer screen. My eyes need the rest. So that's why I bought a Kindle Touch. The screen is gentle on my eyes. I didn't want a Kindle to play games or watch movies or any of that. I bought it to read. So the Kindle Touch is perfect for me. My home is filled with print books. I won't buy another print book again. I buy all of my books on my Kindle. It's the 21st century, and I'm fully on-board.

  3. Mike Manz says:

    If I only wanted to read I'd probably go with the Kindle Touch – the eInk screen is vastly preferable to an LCD of any description. I want to write as well, though, and i really need a physical keyboard for that so I got an Asus Eeepad Transformer (the first generation TF101 model, not the Prime). 16+ hours of full on battery life, and… well, I did an in-depth write up of its suitability for writers here: http://lived-inlife.blogspot.com/2012/04/tech-wednesday-asus-eeepad-transformer.htmlI didn't mention in the post, but there's a very good Kindle app for Android that lets you do all the things a kindle does – just without the eInk screen which, as Mme. DuPre says, is much easier on the eyes. The keyboard and battery life are well worth the trade off in my opinion.

  4. Thanks for this. I have an ipad2, but I would also like to get a kindle because it's lighter and a bit easier to take with you places. I've been wondering about the writing applications, not just the reading ones!Angela

  5. Jenny says:

    Ooh, I have the Kindle Fire on my wishlist. I might just have to move it up to the top!

  6. Cheryl says:

    I love my Kindle Fire. Not only do I have all those (stop counting at 300) books on it, I use the Netflix app while I work. Who knew one little toy would make me so happy?Came over from the challenge.Cherylhttp://booktoursandmore.blogspot.com/

  7. Hektor Karl says:

    I like the Fire, but I've never tried using it for composing. I'm not very good at typing on a screen.

Comments are closed.