I is for Imagination



Category: Writing, Reading, Life

I love my kids.

The other day, my son was sitting on the couch coloring on my Kindle while I was cleaning. I was taking a break, standing in the doorway watching him. He looks up at me, light in his eyes, and grabs my hand pulling me over to sit with him on the couch. He then proceeds to tell me all about what he was coloring a full blown story about a bear named WALL-E. There was a cub there as well. Named Eve. He told me about the house they lived in. He told me about their robot friend (Iron Giant). It was a constant “And then. And then. And then.” Coming from his little mouth. And I loved every minute of it. If I could bottle the light in his eyes from telling a story to Mommy, his gigantic imagination working in overdrive, I would be rich.

Precious likes telling stories too. She’s going to be a Cartoonist though=) She draws pictures and then brings them to me so she can dictate the story to me=) Here is a recent example:

She’s only 5. Kitties are her life…
And, apparently, food is too.


When we’re young, our worlds start small, but our imagination runs ahead of us, preparing us for life to come. If we use it, if we encourage it, there are no limits to what we can achieve.

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in a to z challenge, Life, Little Man, Precious, Reading, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I is for Imagination

  1. farawayeyes says:

    Great that you encourage not quash that imagination.

  2. I so agree! Our kids are windows into just how far the imagination can stretch 🙂

  3. Tracy says:

    *heartstrings pulled*How lovely, Kathleen. 🙂

  4. Nurture that imagination! How lovely to live in kids' worlds 🙂

  5. DL Hammons says:

    A child's imagination is so boundless because it hasn't been constricted by the reality of everyday life yet. Now is the time for their minds to soar! 🙂

  6. I did 'I is for imagination' too. I can't imagine life without it: no speculating, no planning wild trips or mad adventures, no stories to explain the crazy world we live in. For once, I'm not going to try…I'm glad you're letting your kids develop their own, they will come in handy!

Comments are closed.