F is for Failure



Category: Writing

There are two type of people in the world: People who allow failure to rule them and people who rule their failure.

Explanation-

The first type, the people who allow their failures to take over their lives, are the people who are always going to fail in the worst sense of the word. They are going to let their failure on a project or dictate how they write and what they write.

The second type, the people who rule their failure, will do no such thing. They will look failure in the face and say, “Yeah. So what?”

Kristen Lamb recently wrote a post about how failure is a useful thing in the writing world and I think everyone should read it. 


About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in a to z challenge, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to F is for Failure

  1. cherie says:

    Awesome post! I'll try to be in the other failure corner–the one where I rule it, instead of failure ruling me. That's very empowering!

  2. Sue H says:

    Passion overcomes failure!If you're passionate about something then failure may knock you sidewards, but once you recover your balance you can continue.Sometimes, I confess, my 'recovery' periods can become protracted, though……!SueH I refuse to go quietly!

  3. Liz says:

    … and, after saying, 'so what', learn from it of course! Particularly in writing, when we must never stop learning… interesting blog. Liz I'm telling you my A-Z address as Blogger idents me as my shared blog with other writers: http://www.lizbrownleepoet.com

  4. Perseverance wins over failure!

  5. Great post! Failure can be debilitating if you let it

  6. I laugh in the face of failure. Then I run away, but it's a start, right?

  7. Katie says:

    I love this! Especially as a writer where "failure" is part of the job, considering no ms is likely to get picked up on a first query. Stopping in from A to Z to say hello:)–Katie

  8. Tia Bach says:

    I'll definitely check out Lamb's post. I fail at something every single day; it's how we learn! It doesn't mean I like it, but I do like to grow. Great F post!

  9. Chippy says:

    Hopefully I'm the type of person who rules my failure.With some things you just have to pick yourself up, dust yourself off and continue along your way.Great post!Chippy

Comments are closed.