E is for Editing



Category: Writing

I will soon be deep into the revisions of my Untitled book. It will be my first time going through an entire manuscript and polishing it as best I can. I have done a lot of research on the best way to go about it though, and here is my plan on revisions and edits:

1) First round of revisions – fix plot/character issues, add details in skeleton scenes.
2) Second round of revisions – fix plot character issues from adding details.
3) Third round of revisions – fix grammatical errors.
4) Betas and Critiques
5) Fourth round of revisions – fix problems brought up by critiques and beta readers.
6) Second round of Betas and Critiques
7) Fifth round of revisions – fix any other issues that may have come up
And last, but not least –
8) QUERY!

*Once I’m done with the first three rounds of edits, I’m going to be looking for people willing to beta read and critique. When that happens I’ll post about it here on my blog, so if you’re interested, keep an ear out and let me know when the time comes=)


[NOTE: If you’re here for the Thirsty Thursday Blog Round-Up, I will be posting those on Sundays for the month of April due to the A to Z Challenge. Check back on the 8th, 15th, 22nd, and 29th for the linkage you’re looking for. We will return to the normal schedule on May 3rd.]

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in a to z challenge, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to E is for Editing

  1. mooderino says:

    It's a long gruelling process for me. Every time I think I'm on the final draft there's another bunch of stuff that occurs to me.moodMoody Writing

  2. Yes, you're doing it perfectly. Take your time over it all – it's so important – and you succeed! Good luck!

  3. Editing is incredibly important — thanks for pointing that out. I find it takes 2 or 3 times the effort to edit that it does to write in the first place.

  4. I love this blog. Nice to meet you!Teresa

  5. Susan Oloier says:

    I find my edits to be a combination of all those factors because sometimes things I'm not looking for scream at me during a read-through. Good luck on your first experience with editing. Editing and revising now far surpass first drafts for me. They are great fun–until you reach edit #10 or do. Nice to meet you through A to Z.

  6. I'm revising for the first time too, and struggling. I may pinch your list 🙂

  7. Rob-bear says:

    The more complex the process, the more you scare me off writing. That's OK. I'm a journalist, not a writer. Oh, and I'm a blogger too. Books? Way too scary!

  8. I want to fall in love with editing, that would really help! Writing new stuff is easy and fun, but rewriting – it's hard to steer a line between being critical enough to see where it can be improved but not so critical you give up on it. Good luck with your edits! My A-Z was about editing too.

  9. Tia Bach says:

    I love editing, both my own work and others. For others' work, I like knowing I had a hand in making their story sing by helping rid it of anything that would distract the reader. It's harder with my own work, but just as crucial.A to Z is fun! (My G is Grammar, such an important part of the editing process.)

Comments are closed.