D is for Dammit!




Category: Writing


(This post is for the Insecure Writers Support Group and I was able to make it work with the A to Z Challenge! Yay!)

The other day, I was in the gas station and I ran into an old friend from high school. It was refreshing to see her and do a little bit of catching up. We did the usual pleasantries: “How are you?” “How are your kids?”

And then she asked this question: “What have you been doing lately?”

Immediately I wanted to say, “I FINISHED A BOOK!!!” because I’m still pretty stoked about it.

But I didn’t say it. I stopped myself just before I opened my mouth and what came out instead was, “Staying at home with Little Man.”

I knew right away what held me back. Fear. Oh, God, the fear.

What would she say?

What would she think?

Would she get that look on her face?

Would she even care?

Dammit!!!

*Just discovered… Every IWSG member must read this!!



Now, for the winner of the Bloggiversary Giveaway!




Congratulations to Sarah Pearson!

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in a to z challenge, Become by Ali Cross, Bloggiversary, books, IWSG, Wanted: Dead or Undead by Angela Scott, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to D is for Dammit!

  1. Grammy says:

    Hi, I am sure that if I had a book published, you would have to tie me down and put a gag in my mouth to prevent my spreading the word. Ha. People would probably run the other way when they saw me coming. Ha ha. So glad to visit you and congratulations on your book.Ruby

  2. Tonja says:

    I used to feel that way. Now I like to see the reactions people have.

  3. Mina Burrows says:

    I used to discuss it, but now…not so much. I know exactly how you feel. Good IWSG post.

  4. Ha, I know how you feel. I wouldn't have had the guts to say it either. 🙂

  5. Gina says:

    That link is amazing and is a godsend right now. I'm not feeling very positive today but your link has brighten my day if just a bit. Thanks fellow insecure writer! I'm also doing the A to Z challenge, by the way. So much fun!Good luck in all your endeavors.From Diary of a Writer in Progress

  6. Congrats. Completing a book is a major accomplishment. Be proud, you earned the right. All the best.

  7. Fairview says:

    Totally relate. I usually say "nothing much" which is even worse!

  8. Tracy says:

    Next time just go for it! You earned it!So many people *want* to write a book. Not many people do. It was difficult for me to tell people "I'm a writer," but the more I said it, the easier it got. I even printed up biz cards:Tracy Brown, WriterCome on over and read my "A" of the A-Z Challenge. You are not alone. :)http://mstracybrown.blogspot.com/2012/04/is-for-am-as-in-i-am-writer.html

  9. A.F.E. Smith says:

    I know just how you feel! I very rarely tell people I know in my outside life (as opposed to my author life) that I write fantasy. In some people's minds, writing a fantasy novel is even weirder than just writing a novel. (The usual question from the non-fantasy reader being "What, you mean like Harry Potter?") I still need to find the self-belief to just say it and be proud of it.

  10. I've done the same thing when talking to people. I'm not as shy as I used to be about it, but there's still that "what if they think it's [insert negative]" possibility.Congratulations on finishing your book!The Golden EagleThe Eagle's Aerial Perspective

  11. Adrienne says:

    First, that's amazing that you finished a book! Second, I know just how you feel, like it's not really legitimate unless you work is published. Great title and great post!

  12. Thank you so much for sending me the book Kathleen. It's safely on my kindle app :-)And i get this, I really do. I don't tell anybody. I feel bad, like I'm denying part of myself, but i still don't say anything.

  13. Pam Harris says:

    I still get really shy to tell people that I write, too. I've written four completed manuscripts now–you'd think I'd get over it! 🙂

  14. Congrats to Sarah. And I totally get what you mean. When I mention that I'm a writer, people ask if I'm published yet. When I say no, they give me that "look".

Comments are closed.