C is for Cat



Category: Life

I have a cat. Her name is Oz. She is 2 years old.

Last spring, she took a ride in the dryer when I put a shirt in to fluff and didn’t notice her sleeping little form. Lucky for her, only twenty minutes went by when I decided to throw another shirt in the dryer to fluff.

I panicked. I called Hubs at work screaming, “I KILLED THE CAT!!!” into the phone while watching her slink around on the floor, blood and drool dripping from her mouth and eyes black as coal. We live two houses down from a vet, so I grabbed the poor little darling and ran (and I mean RAN).

It’s obvious she survived, but it’s likely she lost 2 or 3 of her lives because of it.

The reason I tell you this story is because I think it’s directly linked to my cat’s behavior toward me of late. You see, she likes attacking my head when I’m sleeping. It’s a common event to wake up at least once a week either when she jumps on my head, or just before the leap onto my head… Until the other night when her tactics changed.

I was in bed, doing my nightly zzz’s when I was woken by a strange sensation. I half open my eyes and see the cat sniffing at my mouth. The cat is on me, sniffing. At. My. Mouth. It was odd, but she’s been through a dryer cycle, so odd behavior from her is the norm. That’s what I thought until she did the next thing.

She kissed me.

I’m not talking about scraping her tongue across my mouth. I’m talking about putting her mouth on my mouth for several seconds. Hubs, who witnessed the entire thing as he had just gotten into bed, was all, “Awww!”

I… was scared for my life.

You’ve either seen or read Cat’s Eye by Stephen King, right? If not, stop reading right here and go get the book or watch the movie (I’d recommend the book though) and then come back when you’re done because spoilers.

You see, when my cat did that, the only thing I could think was of Cat’s Eye, but instead of the cat saving my life from the troll that invaded my body, the cat tried to SUCK MY SOUL AWAY!!! This was confirmed when, a couple of days ago, I’m relaying this story to my sister and before I even get to the part where the cat is eating my soul, she cuts in and explains the rest to me exactly as it happened! Either she’s psychic or I’m not the only one with cat issues.

*Come back tomorrow when I’ll announce the winner of my Bloggiversary Giveaway!

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in a to z challenge, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to C is for Cat

  1. KatieO says:

    Never read Cat's Eye, but thinking I don't want to now, lol! Glad your cat survived the dryer, but maybe she was looking to suck back one of the lives you took from her…Fun to meet you thru AtoZ! Look forward to the rest of your alphabet!

  2. Rob-bear says:

    Oh, the things through which a person has to suffer when having a cat.Condolences. May I suggest a dog would be a better companion?

  3. Kathleen, You need to read Stephen King's short story "The Cat from Hell". I didn't like cats before, but I really don't like them know. It a great and creepy, though. Check it out. I really enjoy your site.

  4. Margo Kelly says:

    YIKES. Not a cat fan. Dogs for me. Even if I have to play fetch endlessly. *sigh* haha

  5. lol! Strangely, this post makes me miss my kitty 🙂

  6. Kelly says:

    That's hilarious.. and I only mean that in the best of ways lol.

  7. nutschell says:

    Oh my gosh. She was in the dryer? I have two cats myself and this has always been a great fear of mine, especially since Millie loves to follow me when i'm doing laundry. **shudders* I always check in the dryer before I start it. I'm so glad kitty was okay, despite her odd behavior afterwards.Great A-Z post!Nutschellwww.thewritingnut.com

  8. That's hilarious! We have cats and whenever we're tormenting them (nothing serious…one cat meows in a very whiny tone and we occasionally meow back at her) I'm wondering if they're thinking, "I'm going to kill her in her sleep. Suffocate or slice the jugular, I'm not sure…but I'm going to get her back." Enjoyed "meeting" you through the A to Z Challenge!

  9. Sharkbytes says:

    Cats are amazing, but weird. I'll stick with my dogs. I'm trying to visit all the A-Z Challenge blogs in April.

  10. I have claustrophobic nightmares of being put in an oversized dryer and being endlessly spun.So I really feel sympathetic towards your cat, even though I am not the biggest fan of cats.

  11. C.M.Brown says:

    Wow, I feel so sorry for your cat being in the dryer, but I am also creeped out by its behaviour now! I would be feeling really worried if I was you! TCarolynBrown-Bookshey are such mystical creatures!

  12. Awww poor cat. I'm so glad she survived.Is it really bad that I laughed at the cat sucking out your soul?

  13. Anonymous says:

    I got to your site and thought wow cool design then I read about your attempted murder of your cat. I am still traumatized. You are not a person who should be around other humans, never mind cats. Please go and take the cat to the humane society, tell them what kind of person you are, that your cat is 'sucking your soul' and your sis agrees with you and sure enough, cat will find someone nice to truly care for her and not to put her in a dryer and will put your family on the list for a century ban for having cats. And hopefully you get medical help.

Comments are closed.