Busy, Busy, Busy

The last week has been busy. I’ve been doing a lot of writing and a lot of cleaning. As you know, I finished the first draft of one of my WIPs and moved on to the other. I got two chapters written in just two days, which is a huge deal since these were two chapters that had already been written and had to be completely rewritten because of a lesson learned once I hit an impassable wall.
You see, I had strayed from my original outline. The outline I spent a month on getting just right for the plot and the characters and what needed to happen to move the story forward. During my time writing the book out, I deviated from this outline and came to a complete stop because of it. I could go no further with the story as I had written it.
I knew the reason. I was unwilling to admit it though.
That’s when the other idea came up and while I reached the 50,000 words needed to beat NaNoWriMo, the book was still not complete. For a few months, I concentrated on blogging, reading, and writing flash pieces or short stories. I would go into the NaNo WIP and write a line here or a paragraph there.
With the new year came a lot more busy than I had anticipated. Who knew the beginning of the year would be filled with Stuff To Do? So, my goals took longer than anticipated.
But, once I got past a full page of writing on the NaNo WIP, I couldn’t stop. Before I knew it, I was done. I didn’t know how to react, honestly. I was pleased, but I knew there was a lot more to do before I could be completely satisfied. The first draft is done, now it sits waiting for revisions and edits.
This is where the cleaning comes in. I’ve rewritten the chapters that needed it in The Gifted. Now, to finish the book, I need to do dishes. A lot. It’s how I think. It’s how I figure out how to say what I know needs to be said. So, my house is getting clean, my book is getting written, and my other book is sitting soundly in a drawer waiting for me to finish a second first draft.
Things are busy?
Things are good=)

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in cleaning, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Busy, Busy, Busy

  1. Woohoo! Sounds like you're on the right track. 😀

  2. Glynis says:

    Gosh, you have been busy! Housecleaning? I am preparing for publication, and the house has taken a back seat for the moment.

  3. Jo says:

    Wow, you're doing great!!!

  4. clairemca says:

    I get the washing dishes thing, for me its hanging out the laundry, the open sky, arms in action, brain clear and awaiting those insights, one wet load at a time.

Comments are closed.