A look into the past

A couple of years ago, I had this great idea for a book! I went to the library and did a lot of research about biological warfare, something integral to the story. I thought about the world I was going to create, what it was like and where people would live and how. When I felt ready, I sat down and started writing. I only got about three chapters done before I put it away.
I came across it the other day. The first three chapters to this book that I was so excited about (and still plan on writing someday) were tucked away with notes for story ideas in a folder in the bottom of a forgotten drawer. I thought it would be a good idea to sit down and take a look at it. See where I could take it when I’m ready to start writing it again.
I… was at a loss. I had committed one of the biggest sins of writing; all three chapters were info dump. ALL THREE CHAPTERS.
About a year ago, just before I started writing The Gifted, I got online and started searching for all the writing advice I could find. As I wrote, I continued looking. Now, after finishing the first draft of another book and continuing work on The Gifted, I still look to advice. (You probably know this already if you follow my Thirsty Thursdays!) I didn’t do this for that long ago WIP.
I’m glad for all the things I’ve learned in the last year. I’m grateful to all those out there who are willing to share what they’ve learned in their own careers as writers. There is so much advice out there and while some of it doesn’t work for me, all of it helps me to be a better writer every day.
I can safely say, I will not commit the sin of the info dump again. 

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in advice, library, rewrite, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A look into the past

  1. Just look at it as really detailed notes for the next draft 😉

  2. Angeline says:

    As Sarah says; that now is your research. We never stop learning as writers. I actually have an honors degree in Creative Writing and I learn new things every day. And, as we all know, the very best way to learn is from our own mistakes.

  3. JEFritz says:

    Often I look back on ideas that petered out and shake my head. We writers really do learn a lot from each other. Good thing, too.

  4. I've learned a lot since I first started writing, too, thanks to this wonderful community and the research I've done the last few years.

  5. Sounds like you've come a loooong way from that first attempt. We do learn a lot as writers, from research, from reading other books, from like-minded people. And I think only by writing 'terribly' and committing to those novice writers' mistakes can your writing really improve 🙂

  6. Siobhan says:

    Hi there. It's not Insecure Writers day, but I'm popping by from Alex's blog anyway. I like to check out other blogs. Good for you in terms of improving your writing. I'm improving day by day too (I hope), and loving the journey. Feel free to pop by my blog if you want 😉

Comments are closed.