Hello Sunshine

It’s amazing, the things that can make you smile=) I woke up Monday morning, feeling every bit of the Monday it was. It’s difficult to recover from losing an hour to DST. I mean, that hour is gained back in November, but that’s November. This is now! I don’t like having 23 hour days. It’s hard enough fitting everything into 24 of them and then you lose one? Suckitude. Seriously.

So color me grumpy when I woke up Monday morning and turned on the computer. I got Precious ready for school (she didn’t have to recover… Children are like that) and had a bit of time before I had to drop her off. I checked my email, took a look at Facebook, and then went to my Google Reader to see what I could get bookmarked for my Thirsty Thursdays.

Low and behold, a smile was waiting for me. And not just any smile. A bright Sunshine-y smile=) None other than Cheryl Reif had given me this:


If you remember, I got this award a while back. I was amazed beyond belief the first time I got it, but now I’m getting it again from one of my top favorite people in the writing/blogging world!! And I’m in the company of some other blogger/writers I absolutely idolize, like K.M. Weiland and Julie Musil? I didn’t stop smiling the whole day=)
*Yeah, I totally name dropped right there=)*

If you don’t know Cheryl, you should. She does a great series on her blog called Tuesday Ten and she’s started a new series covering Writing and Life coaches. I recommend you walk your keyboard right over to her blog and follow. I’ll wait.

*This is me waiting. Take you’re time. I’ll still be here when you’re done.*

Now that you’ve done that (you won’t regret it, by the way), instead of retyping everything I said last time, I give you this:

Click to embiggen=)


I wasn’t going to nominate people again, but then I thought about it. Why wouldn’t I want to spread the Sunshine? Seriously? If it can make little ol’ me smile something fierce, why wouldn’t I want to share that kind of love? So, here are the people I’m awarding with Sunshine:

And since I haven’t mentioned them before, here are the rules:
1) Thank the person who nominated you.
2) Write a blog post with the answers to the questions.
3) Nominate 10 other bloggers and let them know.

Now that I’ve done all three (hey, the picture of my answers counts!), I take my leave with a smile on my face=)

*A Couple of Hours After I Wrote All That*



Holy cow! I’ve been tagged in the Lucky 7 Meme by Carrie Butler=)




The rules for this are:
1) Go to page 77 of my current MS/WIP
2) Go to line 7
3) Copy down the next 7 lines – sentences or paragraphs – and post them as they are written. No Cheating!
4) Tag 7 authors.



Well, here you go=) A first look at my (unedited) WIP, The Gifted:


“You can control fire?” she asked, amazed.
“Yes.”
“Wow. What’s that like?”
“Hot,” Jarrett said from behind them.
“It’s as easy as breathing,” Aaron said, turning to give Jarrett a long-suffering look.
Jane felt a twinge of envy at that. She pushed it aside though and continued their conversation.



Granted, there are eight lines here, but I didn’t want to cut it off mid-sentence.



Okay. To tag seven authors:
Lady Jai
Julia King
Prerna Pickett
Lola Sharp
Vicki Orians
Doreen McGettigan
Cherie Reich



I look forward to reading all your 7’s=)


What has made you smile lately?

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in blog awards. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hello Sunshine

  1. Angeline says:

    I love the little things in life. One morning I woke up and set off to work. I rounded a corner in the lanes and a crowd of about 40 birds that had been sat in the road took flight swooping this way and that over my car. And then, as I drove East, the sun was one of those low, huge deep red ones and I got to see it the whole way. The little things are always the best.Congrats on the blog award!

  2. Hah! "What's that like?" "Hot."I love it, Kathleen! 🙂

  3. Congrats on the awards and thank you for passing it on. Great little snippet!

Comments are closed.