Television and Sunshine


Today marks the beginning of a journey for my family. A journey into the unknown. We have chosen a path and will walk it, together, hand in hand whether there be thistles or rough ground. What is it we are doing that could cast a dark shadow on our lives forever?

We are dropping our cable…

And going with Internet TV.

Yeah, not as dramatic as all that, is it? Still, it’s a huge deal for me and my OMG-I-LOVE-TV family. We are TVaholics. At least one television is on in the house at all times (except when we’re asleep, and sometimes even then). Of course, as of right now, there are only two TVs in the house. We have plans on getting more, but really, do we need another? Hubs says yes. Precious says yes. Little Man says up with the birds and down with the pigs* (think Caesar in the Colosseum, thumb involvement and everything).

I don’t know what to expect from Internet TV. Most of our shows are put on the respective network websites the next day (though some are a week later), not to mention there’s Hulu and Netflix. Still, it’s interesting to see how things work out. We’re keeping all the extremely basic channels. Like the first 13 or something like that. The locals that cost you 50 bucks instead of 200 bucks for the other eleventy billion channels. I’m not absolutely certain about the prices there either. I’m probably on the low side of the spectrum.

The worst part of all of it? For me at least, it’s the DVR will go away. I LOVE our DVR. I would divorce Hubs for it in a second. Well, only as long as I get to keep Mr. Reynold’s Wrap as my lover (he’s shiny and at least one side of him doesn’t stick to food!). Okay, maybe not really. Maybe. But I do love my DVR. I suppose there won’t be much of a difference with internet TV since I’ll be able to call up pretty much any episode I want, but it’s nice having a button I can push to get to what I want to watch without having to go through all the hullabaloo with click this and type that.


*He’s sometimes obsessed with Angry Birds


On another note, I got an award from Yesenia at Help Me Write A Novel! It’s the first time I’ve been given the Sunshine Award and I quite enjoy it=) The rules for this award are as follows:

Thank the person who nominated you.
Write a blog post about it with the answers to the questions.
Nominate 10 other bloggers and let them know.

Okay. Now for the questions.

Favorite Color: Blue

Favorite Animal: Cats and dogs. I love them both equally. Cats have authoritarian personalities, but dogs are usually pretty happy to see you=)

Favorite Number: 7. I don’t know why. I’ve just always really liked the number.

Favorite Non-Alcoholic Drink: Mountain Dew. I LOVE Mountain Dew. Seriously. It’s bad. Have for years. Would probably go mad if I didn’t have one ready and available at all times.

Facebook or Twitter: How to decide? I love both for different reasons.

My Passions: My family first and foremost. After that I’d have to say the written word – whether I’m writing it or I’m reading it. Third, really yummy and not that good for you food like fried anything. And bacon in large amounts. And cookies. And I need to stop there or I’ll raid the kitchen.

Getting or Giving Presents: Giving, and that’s the honest truth. I’ve never really been comfortable with getting gifts. Sure, I accept them and generally like whatever I get, but I never feel right about it. I love giving though, especially to my family and friends. Those little unexpected and out of no where gifts that put a smile on the person’s face are the best=)

Favorite Pattern: Uhm… I didn’t know I was supposed to have one…

Favorite Day of the Week: Saturdays are the days I get to sleep in=)

Favorite Flower: Tiger Lily

Now for the nominations:

That’s it for today=)

What are your thoughts on getting your TV programs from the internet instead of having cable/satellite?

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in blog awards, Facebook, Life, Twitter. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Television and Sunshine

  1. Thanks Kathleen! I'll get to post this soon. I don't have cable or satellite. I rely on Netflix and my kids find plenty to watch. We don't have the TV on too much though.

  2. Congrats on your award! I love both cats and dogs too. We've been into internet tv and netflix for three years now, and although there are some moments when we seriously miss cable, when we see it (while on vacation, or at a friend's house) we are often surprised and frustrated by the amount of commercials and reruns. My kids told me they saw reruns of iCarly that were older than the Netflix versions at a friends house, and couldn't understand it.

  3. Angela Scott says:

    Thanks so much for the award. It's awesome! I haven't seen this one before and it's great. Thanks so much. I really appreciate it (I love flowers)

  4. Juliemybird says:

    "He's shiny and at least one side of him doesn't stick to food." HAHA!Thanks for the award. I have no idea what my favorite pattern is, either…

  5. Kerri Cuev says:

    Thanks for the award!Yay, for you cutting the cord with the cable company. We did last year and have never looked back.

  6. Congratulations on your award, Kathleen, and thanks for passing it along to me! I really appreciate it. :DI could so live without cable, if it weren't for hockey… *Sigh*

  7. KarenG says:

    Hi Kathleen! I'm visiting from the A to Z Challenge List to get a head start on finding some great new blogs. Nice to meet you! My thoughts on changing to internet TV is that since I spend so much time on the internet anyway, I don't want to also get my TV from it. I love to relax at night with my husband sprawled out and watching PBS mysteries or movies from the library and Netflix on our big old TV. KarenG

  8. Margo Kelly says:

    Thanks for the award!! 🙂

Comments are closed.