A Challenge – Darkness Whispers

Well, it’s time for another Campaign and with it another Challenge! The challenge is as follows:


Write a short story/flash fiction story in 200 words or less, excluding the title. It can be in any format, including a poem. Begin the story with the words, “Shadows crept across the wall”. These five words will be included in the word count. 

If you want to give yourself an added challenge (optional), do one or more of these:

  • end the story with the words: “everything faded.” (also included in the word count)
  • include the word “orange” in the story
  • write in the same genre you normally write
  • make your story 200 words exactly!



I was able to incorporate all of the extras into my story, and it was quite a challenge=) I had fun writing it though and I hope you have fun reading it! So, without further ado:


Darkness Whispers

Shadows crept across the wall. Amy waited in the remaining light, wondering when Eric – if Eric – would return.

A loud CRACK! sounded, sending her heart hammering against her chest. The tall spruce outside the window moaned, tipped, and smashed to the ground shattering the windows of a car and setting off its alarm.

“Eric!” she screamed, all her desperation and fear from the last few days bleeding into his name, but there was no one left to hear.

Without thought her mouth formed the incantation. The world was silent but for the whisper of the shadows as they moved closer, the last orange light of the sun boxing her in. Darkness surrounded her, reaching its smoky tendrils ever closer.

“You will not escape,” the shadows whispered.

Cold sweat broke out across Amy’s forehead as she continued her silent spell. She closed her eyes, willing her mouth to move as fast as thought.

“Only seconds left and you will be mine.”

The warmth of light left her feet and with the chill of shadow came pain as Darkness leeched blood from her. A laugh, cold and mirthless, filled the room – silent and deafening.

“You’re too late,” she whispered as everything faded.

****

Don’t forget to “like” my story (number 40) and read the other entries. You can do all of that HERE.

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in #writecampaign, Flash Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to A Challenge – Darkness Whispers

  1. Jess says:

    Wow that was very intense!! I wish I knew more of the story!! Definitely voting for you and following along!I'm entry #19

  2. Morgan says:

    Niiiice. Just "liked" it… lovely work, Kathleen! 😀

  3. kmckendry says:

    OOOH scary! Well done. 🙂

  4. Kathleen says:

    Thanks you guys=)

  5. Nice piece. It makes me want to know more.

  6. Angeline says:

    Fantastic sense of atmosphere. Great piece!

  7. Really good. Intense. I want to find out what happens.

  8. "'Eric!' she screamed, all her desperation and fear from the last few days bleeding into his name, but there was no one left to hear." I love that line! Great work! 😀

  9. Okay. Whispering shadows is enough to scare me out of my skin. Loved your tone throughout. Nice one! 🙂

  10. Hey there! New campaigner finally making the rounds. Nicely done! You had a great tone and a lovely end. I enjoyed it.

  11. Hi Kathleen, I'm finally stopping by from the YA group at the Campaign!I really enjoyed reading your challenge entry, and I want to know more about what's happening!I don't think she died. I think she's going somewhere else, hence the "You're too late."

  12. Juliemybird says:

    This gets my vote. 🙂

  13. Kevin Hiatt says:

    Loved the tone.. dark and mysterious. Nice work.

  14. Lady Gwen says:

    Dark and scary – well done:)

  15. JEFritz says:

    Nice. You did a great job of weaving things together. And those shadows! I wonder what will happen next.

  16. Ann Cory says:

    Nice ambience – loved the dark and moodiness of the piece, well done!

  17. Komal says:

    Great job! Your writing really drew me in!

  18. Alyssa says:

    Ooooh, scary! I really liked it! :)I'm #37

  19. Kathleen says:

    Wow! Thanks for all the great feedback! I'll be sure to check yours out too=)

  20. sue says:

    was that Eric? did not sound goodI'm #103

  21. Alynza Smith says:

    "whisper of the shadows…" Loved that!

  22. alexia says:

    Cool! Very scary.

  23. Ashley Nixon says:

    Ohh. I liked "bleeding into this name" part! Great description!

  24. Eric wasn't in the car was he?

  25. Wow! Chilly and exciting. Great job! Really enjoyed reading it.

  26. Nick Wilford says:

    Creepy and atmospheric. I love the image of darkness "leeching blood" from her – ouch!

  27. Dark, intense, scary…all great things. Nice! I'm a new follower and entry #96.

  28. Tia Bach says:

    Creep and so descriptive. You squeezed a lot of good stuff in 200 words. Congrats. I'm liking!#169

  29. C.M.Brown says:

    Loved the darkness, very descriptive!

Comments are closed.