Insecure Writer’s Support Group – Give Yourself Permission


Being a writer is not an easy path to take. Not only is it real work, but it’s work that gets overlooked or looked down upon. There is this stigma attached to the word “writer” that makes a lot of people think you’re just a lazy good for nothing Stephen King wannabe with no real skills. Some people think you should go out and get a real job.

This leaves writers insecure in their chosen field. It leaves us feeling worthless and useless. It leaves us feeling like we really should give up on this crazy pipe dream.

I’m telling any writer who thinks that to stop right there.

I’m telling you to give yourself permission to say “Frak you very much,” to anyone who thinks writing is easy and wasteful.

And I’m telling you to say “What the frak ever,” and walk away knowing you’re doing what you want to do, what you’re good at (you know you are), and make no apologies for it.

It starts with you and it ends with you. Writing is a calling, a career, and difficult enough without the nay-sayers out there who want to bring you down just because.

Give yourself permission to write. It only comes from you.

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in Insecure Writer's Support Group, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Insecure Writer’s Support Group – Give Yourself Permission

  1. Tonja says:

    I think the world 'wannabe' is the first thing that pops into people's minds when they hear the word 'writer.' Frustrating.

  2. Great post, Kathleen. Some day perhaps I'll have the guts to introduce myself as a writer. 🙂

  3. I need that little pep talk today. Just in time 🙂 Thank you!

  4. Thank you for those lovely words, you are so right if we don't get ourselves permission to write, then we will never achieve our dreams!

  5. kmckendry says:

    Thanks, that was just what I needed to hear!

  6. Jade Hart says:

    Great post. I totally agree, no one said I had to write, I wrote for me, so if I'm having a bad day – that's fine to be easier on myself and have a breather. 🙂 I'm a new follower, I'm loving doing the insecure blog-hop 🙂

Comments are closed.