Dear Mother/Writer – These Things Will Help

Last Tuesday, I addressed the mother/writers out there and talked about how it is possible to write AND clean during the day. Today, I’m letting the mother/writers out there know of some things that just might be useful to them to help make your days easier as you take care of the little ones, clean the house, and write.

1) A Voice Recorder
Yep. These things are word savers. Let’s say you’re driving along in your car on the way to pick the kids up or take them to the doctor (nothing serious, just a check-up) and the sudden inspiration for the next line in your book comes to you or you have an amazing idea for your next blog post and immediately start “writing” it in your head. There’s a problem with writing it in your head: When you sit down to write it out later, it’s all wrong and you can’t remember exactly what you said. It’s lost its pizazz.
Get yourself a voice recorder, and this will never happen again! That idea comes, you whip out the little machine, and start talking.


2) A White Noise Generator
I imagine you’re making a face suggesting I’ve lost my mind having suddenly changed subjects from writing help to sleeping help, but I haven’t. They are one and the same here. Writers often have issues with sleep, and it’s no wonder with all those people screaming in our heads demanding to be written. But sleep is essential for good writing and what better way to shut those voices out for a few hours than with a white noise generator? Try it out. You might just be surprised at how well it works.

3) A Journal
This may seem kind of obvious, but there are plenty of writers out there who don’t keep a journal. Sure, they have journals, but they don’t really use them. (One of the many things I’ve noticed about us writers is the need to have a lot of paper and a lot of pens and pencils. And that’s okay.) Get yourself a really nice journal and write in it, every day if possible.
I have a journal I use specifically for how my writing is going. I write about where I am and where I want to go with a particular story, and I put daily and total word counts in it. I don’t write in it every day, but I do a few times a week. Your journal can be for anything you want. Some ideas? It could be filled with letters to your kids (for them to read when they are grown up). It could be about your daily life and what things you did or didn’t do that day. It could be used to chronicle a vacation you’re taking and all the sights you’ve seen. Like I said, it could be used for anything you want.

4) Ear Plugs
Because sometimes you have to shut out the world, even if it doesn’t want to be shut out. (This is more helpful if you have a significant other, family, or close friend who is willing to hang out with your kids. Especially if they are young.) Try something like this.

There you have it! Some of these things might not work for you, and that’s okay. All you have to do is adjust to what will work for you, get out there, and write!

Do you have something that helps you write?

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in cleaning, Life, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Dear Mother/Writer – These Things Will Help

  1. Great tips! I never thought about a voice recorder. That is a really good idea. Right now with my son being just 20 months old, I only get time to write when he goes down for his nap.

  2. Tonja says:

    Great tips – sleep is the one I need. I prefer childish, inexpensive journals to leather ones. I got daycare a few hours a week specifically so I can write. It worked well at first, but lately I've been cleaning (or sleeping) during my writing time.

  3. Great tips, Kathleen! As an alternative to the voice recorder, I have an app downloaded on my phone (Hi-Q MP3 Recorder Lite). It works great! 🙂

  4. Annie says:

    I was thinking about your last post just this afternoon, when I was looking around at the clutter on my coffee table! I'm going to have to try one of those white noise generators–thanks for another great post!

  5. I love the tip abt the voice recorder. Im defn going to use that one. Esp since you can voice record on most MP3 and ipod music players, so not necessary to go and buy a brand new gadget. I used an MP3 player to do all the tsunami survivor interviews when i was researching my last book and it was perfect tool. I cant believe it never ocurred to me to use it to grab those thoughts as they come throughout a crazy day with my five children. Thank you so much!

  6. I love the journal idea filled with letters to my kids . .. .I always write my journal entries to "me" and for notes, but I think this would be really cool. Love the voice recorder idea too – I need one of those.

Comments are closed.