The Art of Knowing Everything… Even If You Don’t

Kids are awesome. They have such curious minds and want to know about anything and everything. They question you about all things under the sun and sometimes over the sun as well. “How does the sky work?” “Why are there rainbows?” “What’s wrong with sticking my finger up my nose?”

My favorite questions from Precious are those posed when I catch her doing something she’s not supposed to:
“Don’t prod the cat with your paper towel telescope, please,” I say from the kitchen.
“How did you know I was doing that?” she asks from the living room, awed.
“I’m your mother. I know everything.”

As a parent, it’s my job to know things. Even if I don’t know everything, I try to answer the questions my kids pose as honestly as I can. Sometimes, their questions catch me off guard though:
“Mommy, when can I have a baby sister?”
“Guh….”

How does one go from being just another person with limited knowledge to Super Know-It-All? Easy. Sit in a room with at least one kid and allow him/her to ask questions. You’d be surprised how much you really do know.

But it’s not just about Knowing Everything. It’s about having the ability to answer the questions. I have, on many occasions, told my daughter when I truly didn’t know the answer to a question she asked. I also told her I’d find out. And I do. I get on the internet and search Google or Wikipedia, or ask others I think might have the answer. When Hubs is around and I find myself struggling to form an answer, he jumps in and does it for me. He’s a Super Know-It-All too=)

One thing we don’t do is treat our children like they won’t understand. The problems with answering my daughter are more about being able to find the words than thinking she can’t understand. If a word comes up she doesn’t understand, she asks about it and I define it for her. She has a great vocabulary for a girl her age.

So, The Art of Knowing Everything, is basically just knowing what you know and learning the rest.

What about you? Do your kids think you know everything? Are you honest with them in what you do and don’t know? In what ways do your answer your kids’ questions?

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in children, daughter, Hubs, kids, Life, son. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Art of Knowing Everything… Even If You Don’t

  1. My son's only 20 months right now, so there's only so much he understands, but I'll be honest about everything. Though, I want to be creative with him and use our imaginations together. Might bend reality a little that way!

  2. I remember thinking my dad knew everything. (He still thinks he does!)I have four kids, only three of question asking age, and some times I think the hardest part is making the time to answer all the questions. The questions are endless, but I really don't want them to ever stop asking questions in life so I really try to stop and take the time to answer as best I can.

Comments are closed.