Goals and Resolutions

Today I want to talk about goals and resolutions. A new year is on our doorsteps and that means many of us are deciding what our New Year resolutions will be. We are also trying to decide what goals to set for ourselves.

I have one resolution and a few goals. The resolution is a big one, and I’m going to need you, dear readers, to help me with it. 

I am quitting smoking! It’s a nasty, unhealthy, and stinky habit that costs way too much money. I could use the money I save from not smoking to attend a writers conference. I could buy myself a brand new laptop. I could save up enough throughout the years to put at least one of my kids through… Well, maybe one year of college with the way tuition fees are rising, but it’s a start! There are so many possibilities and I want to be around long enough to tell my grandkids what it was like without internet and an XBOX when I was a kid. (“VCRs were new when I was a kid, Sweetie.”  “What’s a VCR, Gramma?”)


Quitting smoking is no easy thing. There are some nasty side effects from the nicotine withdrawal including decreased appetite, weight gain, bitchy attitude, and emotional roller coaster. Now that I think about it, it sounds a lot like writing a book…

Anyways, I’m looking forward to it. Well, not so much the process as the end result.

Now, my goals for 2012:

1) Finish first draft of both WIPs by February
Neither should take that long, but I’m giving myself room for oopses.

2) Finally actually read The Hero With A Thousand Faces
I’ve had it opened to page one on several occasions, but I’ve never read a
word of it…

3) Have first rewrites of NaNo novel done by May
I hope it doesn’t take that long, but it just might.

4) Lock The Gifted in the deepest darkest corner of whatever vault I can
find and not open it again until 2013
I must take a while to prepare myself for the much horridness I cannot yet
face to fix. (Yes, that is a very strange sentence.)

5) Walk at least one mile a week
Even if it’s split up throughout.

Well, those are my goals and my resolution. What about you? What resolutions and goals (writing related or not) have you set for yourself for 2012? I’d love to hear about it!

*If some of you are wondering where my Sample Sunday post was yesterday, I have no idea. I thought I put it up for scheduling, but I can’t find the darn thing anywhere. Not on the interwebz, nor on my many back-up devices. Hmm. A Conundrum. I’m taking it as a sign though. I will have a Sample Sunday once a month on the second Sunday.

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in Life, Reading, revision, rewrite, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Goals and Resolutions

  1. Great resolutions. Good luck! We still have a VCR. My son thinks DVDs go into it. I have three novels I want to revise. I also want to get back into the habit of writing one short story and submitting it somewhere every month.Happy holidays! 🙂

  2. @Christine Rains You know, there's a community of people that do that. They write and submit one story per week or per month. Here's the link if you don't know about it already:http://www.write1sub1.com/

  3. Joshua says:

    Excellent list of goals. Get to it!

Comments are closed.