Wrap It Up: For Hubs


Click to go to Linky List and see what others came up with!
I have decided to join in the Wrap It Up Blogfest hosted by J.A. Bennett, David Powers King, and Leigh Covington. The idea for the blogfest is to give the gift of writing to someone in your life.

And who better to receive this gift than the man who has to live with this writer?

So, here it is, Hubs. My present to you:


I Wish I Could (Do More)

Every day you wake up, you force yourself to sit up, to stand up, and to get up and get ready for work. It isn’t easy. You push through your pain. The ache radiating through your body is more than most can handle. Bending over to tie your shoes is an Olympic feat; that first push to get out of bed heroic. You push through your pain. You don’t give up.

It’s not in your nature. You weren’t raised to quit at the first sign of problems. You learned the meaning of work from your dad. The Navy pushed you further, honing an already disciplined mind. But seven years has taught me to see what others can’t: That momentary crack in the wall before you shove it back up; The slight movement made when standing up because your back almost gave out; Holding your breath when you move wrong because if you don’t, you’ll sound out your pain; The grip on the steering wheel as you get in or out of the truck, even that causing more discomfort than you deserve. But you push through your pain. You don’t give up.

So I don’t give up. I stand behind you, silent, hands on your shoulders to help you, but never pushing too hard. I’m the fall back guy. Lean back, and I’ll hold you up. Because that’s what you do for me. I’ll lend you my strength, because that’s what you do for me. How could I do any less for a man who fights so hard through the pain – who doesn’t give up – so he can take care of his family?

If it were possible, I would take the pain. I wish I could. For now, I won’t give up. I’ll hold your hand through the pain.



About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in Hubs. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Wrap It Up: For Hubs

  1. This was a really beautiful thing to say. He's lucky to have your support and understanding.

  2. That is so sweet and generous! I'm sure he'll love it!

  3. Okay… now I'm all emotional. This is beautiful. Your husband sounds like an amazing man and you are so wonderful to be there to support him and love him. Thank you so much for participating!

  4. So lovely and sweet. He's lucky to have you.

  5. Very kind of you to share this story.

  6. Aloha Kathleen,That's a powerful story, and I'm sure you're going to catch him by surprise when he reads this wonderful piece.God bless you both, and please thank your husband for his service to our country.PS. GO Navy, Beat Army 🙂

  7. Glynis says:

    What a beautiful gift to give!

  8. There's no greater thing than to have someone who understands the pain and will love you and hold you up, no matter what. Beautifully written.

  9. Very heart-felt. Thank you for participating! 🙂

  10. Patsy says:

    A lovely piece of writing. I'm sorry your husband is in pain, but it's great to know you're both supporting each other as best you can. I think that's what marriage should be about.

Comments are closed.