Sometimes Life

         You’re tapping along on the keyboard. Things are going great. The main character is talking to you, telling you exactly what happened and you’re just dictating it for him. You never knew you could type so fast.


CRACKCRASH!!

Life just happened. Things were going so well with your writing and suddenly your cat/kid/dog/emu just knocked your favorite vase/coffee mug/clay self-portrait sculpture from just out of the kiln off of the table. Something like that.

I was thankful for the blog tour I was a part of last week. That meant pre-written and scheduled blog posts up with plenty of time to write for myself. Then I got sick. A decent cold that had my thoughts fuzzy. That was the beginning of the week. I had already put up the posts for scheduling, which provided ample time for recovery before getting back into the writing needed for both my WIPs. By Wednesday I was all better…

Then Precious got sick. She had an ear infection a couple of weeks before. Turns out, the bacteria just laughed at the antibiotics the doctor gave her though. She had to go back to the doctor, and, after an extremely high fever that had us prepping for an emergency room visit (luckily we got it down ourselves), she couldn’t go back to school until today.

And now I’m sick… again. Worse this time. It’s a miracle I’m making it through this post, but I think it might be due only to the medicine that I had to get from behind the pharmacy counter… Yeah, the strong kind that they keep locked up. While I still feel quite blah-ish, I am a bit better than I was when I woke up this morning, but I don’t think a lot of writing is going to get done today.

That’s okay though. Even though I still haven’t gotten a lot of writing done in the last week, that doesn’t mean that I haven’t been thinking about it. I’ve been going over both of my WIPs in my head, making mental notes of what I want to happen here and what needs to be fixed there.

There’s a particular part in my NaNo novel that needs to be axed, but saved for later… There is a possibility for a series with this book, though that is not my plan for now. But before I can really get down to writing, I need to do these mental fixes so I know where to go and what to do. I don’t want to sit down in front of my computer, writing program up and a completely blank look on my face because I don’t know where to go or what to do.

So, while sometimes life happens and you can’t do the writing you want to do, it doesn’t mean you can’t work on your writing! It just means you have more time to think about what you want to do, and maybe you come up with an amazing idea you could never have thought of pouring all of your energy into the keyboard.

Now, I’m going to go collapse on the couch and stare at the TV without really watching what’s on. Maybe figure out how to tweak the love interest in my first WIP… 

What about you? Do you do mental edits and planning when you aren’t able to write?


About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sometimes Life

  1. Definitely! I'm either puzzling over how to make something work or thinking of things to change :-)Hope you feel better soon.

  2. I'm so sorry you're sick. I hope that you get feeling better. When I have to edit, I just remind myself that this will make my novel better. Good luck!

  3. Krista says:

    Oh I totally know how it feels when life happens. It happened to me this week. Yes I do work on my story in my head when I can't write. It is the only thing keeping me sane today 🙂

  4. Yesenia says:

    Hope you get better! I've been buried under projects and finals for school that I haven't found much time to plan my next novel. I've been doing a lot of thinking in little snippets of time and I'm developing lots of ideas. I was kinda worried because I just had a very basic idea. Now it seems to be getting a life of its own. Can't wait until tomorrow when I'm done with school, and I can sit down to really organize everything! You're right; sometimes some really good ideas happen this way.

  5. Wow that is a doozy of a week. I try to think about my stories when I can't write, often falls into remembering only my favorite scenes and not the ones that actually need help. At least I'm honest!

  6. Joshua says:

    I'm working on not editing until I'm finished. There are lists of notes for each WIP that I'll come back to. Only if it changes something so major will I make the change along the way.

Comments are closed.