NaNoWriMo Update: The Final Stretch

        Wow. What an experience National Novel Writing Month has been! I didn’t know if I could do it, but I’m so very close now; I can smell the validation coming. 
        
        Friday, I had my best writing day ever. I wrote almost 5000 words. I had been facing a wall for so long, I was able to do only 500 or so words a day for about a week. I think what got me through that wall was the end looming. I have only three days left to finish my novel and get it validated. I have a feeling I’m going to do it=)


There’s one problem though. And this is a huge hurdle to over come… I’ve had no time this weekend to write. AHH! I was going to. The time was planned out. Saturday night, I put my kids to bed, got the laundry in the dryer, and sat down to write when BOOM! What sounded like a sonic wave came out of my kitchen. I get up to investigate and I hear my dryer trying to unlock itself and failing. It should have been running. I just put towels in to dry minutes before. Instead I hear the electric motor that unlocks it repeating itself with a couple of bangs in between cycles.

My dryer had all but exploded. No, there was no fire, no there was no shrapnel… Yet. I open the lid, which I shouldn’t have been able to do, and see that the drum is still closed. Crap. It’s bad enough our washer needs replaced, now our dryer is going to have to be replaced too. It’s only three years old (bought just after my son was born), but we have had problems with it since a year after we got it. I shouldn’t have been surprised, but I was.

So, my night was spent trying to get the clothes out of the dryer so we could hang them up to dry. Once we got the drum to open, we found my husband’s favorite pair of underwear shredded and the bolt that holds the drum up to be spun wrapped up in the leftover fabric. This is what it looked like:


Holy crap, do you see what I see?
Nothing on this is supposed to be lopsided.









Yeah. It’s not supposed to look like that. That has been ground down. No wonder my dryer broke.

That was yesterday though. What about today?

Well, I’m not sure what’s going to happen tonight after the kids go to bed. I’ll probably have some time to write once that’s done, but all day Hubs and I have some serious closet cleaning to do. Trust me when I say that this will be an all day endeavor. Those poor closets have been used and abused and really don’t even fit any clothes in them anymore. It’s a sad, sad shame and one we are fixing today. Those closets are going to be shiny by the time we get through with them!

Anyways, my total word count for today is 40,199 meaning I still have 9801 words to get a win in NaNoWriMo. Monday looks to be very productive since Precious goes back to school after her sickness and her Thanksgiving break.

Oh… Don’t forget. Next week is the start of something special I have planned for my Sunday posts from now on. I’m really looking forward to this new Sunday theme and I hope you stop by and check it out!

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in broken dryer, NaNoWriMo. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to NaNoWriMo Update: The Final Stretch

  1. Holy cow I wonder how your dryer managed that feat without starting a fire. Good luck managing that last sprint for NaNo!

  2. Margo Kelly says:

    YIKES! Dryers can be dangerous things!

Comments are closed.