Thanksgiving and Thirsty Thursday

        

        
        It’s that time of the week again where we will dive deep into the cup of knowledge provided by all those wonderful writing sites out there! As it is National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo), I will have only seven links to provide, but next week Thirsty Thursday will be back in full swing with the longer lists of awesome blogs and articles to check out.



Yes, it is close to the end of NaNoWriMo, but this list provided by OnlineCollege.com could help you find what you need in your final sprint to the end!

This link to 6 Golden Rules of NaNoWriMo has helped me remember the important thing about participating in NaNoWriMo: Have fun and challenge yourself!!

As you figure out your character, Larry Brooks helps you with NaNoWriMo #18: Don’t Confuse ‘Quirks’ with ‘Characterization.’

As always, Chuck Wendig doesn’t do BS. If he’s got something to say about writing, he’s not going to sugar coat it for you, and that is why you really need to read 25 Reasons Readers Will Quit Reading Your Story.

James Scott Bell is a genius, and Kristen Lamb seems to agree when she quotes from his writing book in her latest series post, Structure Part 8 – Balancing the Scenes that Make Up Your Novel.

It’s likely you are a blogger too, or are thinking about blogging, or want to blog but don’t know how to blog about writing. Beyond the Margins can help you! Check out How to Write a Blog Post About Writing.

And last, but most certainly not least, we come to the final link which will fill your cuteness jar to brimming with it’s rewards for writing. Check out Written? Kitten!


That’s all for the links. I really like that last one. Unlike write or die, you don’t get punished for not writing, but get rewarded when you do! Why not trying to switch back and forth between both?

Anyway, as it is Thanksgiving Day I think I might share some of those things I am thankful for before I bid you adieu.


First, I am thankful for such a supportive family. In the months since I sat butt in chair and started actually writing instead of just saying I wanted to write, my family has been behind me, encouraging me to keep going and sharing in the ups and downs that come with it. I am lucky to have such a supportive family, when there are so many writers out there who don’t have that luxury.

I’m thankful for the things I’ve learned, and I’ve learned a lot. I cringe when I go back and read some of my beginning posts, but I can’t help but smile too. There’s a marked difference between day one and today and I look forward to the cringe/smiles to come as I learn more, grow as a writer, and look back on this post.

And I am thankful for you, my readers. I haven’t been published yet, but you’ve followed me along on my path, encouraging me and supporting me and showing me how great a community of writers I belong to. I am so glad my initial fear of being ridiculed and laughed at were wrong. YOU, more than anyone, help me get through the tough times when I wonder if I will ever be good enough. Your continued presence helps me see that I am not alone in this and I can get there as long as I just keep writing. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in NaNoWriMo, Thirsty Thursday. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thanksgiving and Thirsty Thursday

  1. Glynis says:

    I hope your Thanksgiving is a good one.

Comments are closed.